Doors Open Ontario presenting sponsor
Doors Open Ontario presenting sponsor

Loyalist Township

in-person event information

Saturday, June 18, 2022, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Explore Loyalist Township's many fascinating points of interest and learn about the unique stories behind each door that proudly highlight the rich history of this beautiful community!

Close


Contact information

Amherst Island's Dry Stone WallsDoors Open Loyalist Township

New

Amherst Island's Dry Stone Walls

The dry stone walls located on Amherst Island are a unique feature to Loyalist Township. It is one of the only areas in Canada with such a significant concentration of historical dry stone walls. The walls were built as both a place to move the stones unearthed from the fields during ploughing and to create enclosures for livestock.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Parking

Contact info

Meet at 5697 Front Road
Stella, Amherst Island, Ontario
Email: amherst4615@gmail.com

Architecture

Year built: 2015

Architect: John Bland and Patrick McAfee

Dates/hours open

Jun 18 - Jun 18

Bath Museum and Visitor CentreDoors Open Loyalist Township

New

Bath Museum and Visitor Centre

Built in 1861, this site – a treasured historical property – offers exhibits that take you on a journey from pre-colonial times to the Second World War, beginning with an archaeological history of the region’s First Nations. The museum has a rich collection of artifacts dating back 400 years, including United Empire Loyalists, and First and Second World War memorabilia.

  • Guided tours available
  • Kid-friendly
  • Self-guided tours available
  • Washrooms

Architecture

Year built: 1861
Building type: Museum
Architect: Unknown

Dates/hours open

Jun 18 - Jun 18

Bath United ChurchDoors Open Loyalist Township

New

Bath United Church

Bath United Church is a variant of the type of classical parish church developed in England by Sir Christopher Wren, an English architect renowned for designing London’s St. Paul’s Cathedral. The last major alterations at Bath United occurred between 1954-55 when a basement was added, and the original clapboard covered with stucco, removing much of its classical detailing.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Parking
  • Washrooms

Architecture

Year built: 1849
Building type: Place of worship
Architect: Unknown

Dates/hours open

Jun 18 - Jun 18

Emmanuel United ChurchDoors Open Loyalist Township

New

Emmanuel United Church

Part of this church’s history involves the merger of several local denominations, one of which occurred in 1884 and the second in 1925. The current building was constructed in 1912 after a fire destroyed the previous structure. Visit the church during Doors Open and explore its many unique features, including stained-glass windows and hand-carved wood railings.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Parking
  • Self-guided tours available
  • Washrooms

Contact info

63 Factory Street
Odessa, Ontario
Email: office@odessapc.com
https://odessapc.com/emmanuel-church

Architecture

Year built: 1911
Building type: Place of worship
Architect: Unknown

Dates/hours open

Jun 18 - Jun 18

Fairfield HomesteadDoors Open Loyalist Township

Fairfield Homestead

Loyalist William Fairfield Sr. settled here with his family in 1784. Occupied by six generations until it was donated to the people of Ontario in 1959, the house survives as an outstanding record of 18th-century building techniques, offering valuable links with the contribution of the Loyalists in the development of Canada. Check out nearby Fairfield-Gutzeit House, built by Fairfield’s son.

  • Guided tours available
  • Parking
  • Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust
  • Washrooms

Contact info

4574 Bath Road
Amherstview, Ontario
Email: fairfield1793@gmail.com
http://fairfieldhomestead.ca

Architecture

Year built: 1793
Building type: Historical house
Architect: William Fairfield Sr.

Dates/hours open

Jun 18 - Jun 18

Fairfield-Gutzeit HouseDoors Open Loyalist Township

New

Fairfield-Gutzeit House

The Fairfield-Gutzeit House is situated along the Loyalist Parkway overlooking Lake Ontario. A public park and playground are within walking distance and there are many local businesses offering unique finds and tasty treats. The house dates back to 1796 and was designated in 1992. It was built by William Fairfield Jr., whose parents’ 1793 homestead stands in nearby Fairfield Park.

  • Self-guided tours available
  • Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust
  • Washrooms

Architecture

Year built: 1796
Building type: Historical house
Architect: William Fairfield Jr. and Benjamin Fairfield

Dates/hours open

Jun 18 - Jun 18

Neilson Store Museum and Cultural CentreDoors Open Loyalist Township

New

Neilson Store Museum and Cultural Centre

Amherst Island's Neilson Store Museum and Cultural Centre opened its doors as a museum in 2004. The volunteer-run museum is dedicated to collecting, interpreting and exhibiting the past, reflecting the life and times of Amherst Island with exhibits depicting early schools, industrial tools, family life, natural history and transportation. Items also include the Amherst Island ship's wheel, bell and logs.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking
  • Washrooms

Contact info

5220 Front Road
Stella, Amherst Island, Ontario
Email: admin@neilsonstoremuseum.ca
https://neilsonstoremuseum.ca

Architecture

Year built: 1883
Building type: Commercial Museum
Architect: James S. Neilson

Dates/hours open

Jun 18 - Jun 18

Odessa Free Methodist ChurchDoors Open Loyalist Township

New

Odessa Free Methodist Church

In 1895, a Wilton society meeting was called to organize a class of Methodist practitioners in Odessa. During its earliest days, there was no church building to hold meetings and services in and so they were held in many different places, including peoples’ homes and businesses. This church was officially built for the congregation in 1907.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Parking
  • Self-guided tours available
  • Washrooms

Contact info

78 Main Street
Odessa, Ontario
Email: info@odessafmc.com
http://www.odessafmc.com

Architecture

Year built: 1907
Building type: Place of worship
Architect: Unknown

Dates/hours open

Jun 18 - Jun 18

Pentland CemeteryDoors Open Loyalist Township

New

Pentland Cemetery

The Pentland Cemetery – Amherst Island’s first non-denominational cemetery – was in service from 1831 until 2001. It occupies 0.5 hectares (1.29 acres) of land that runs between Front Road and Lake Ontario. The headstones record the predominantly Irish pioneer families that had settled on the Island. The first person buried in the cemetery was in 1831.

    Contact info

    1652 Front Road
    Stella, Amherst Island, Ontario

    Architecture

    Year built: 1831
    Building type: Cemetery

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18

    St. Alban's Anglican Church, Amherst IslandDoors Open Loyalist Township

    New

    St. Alban's Anglican Church, Amherst Island

    This church on Amherst Island was built in the late 1880s and consecrated on February 5, 1890. The church was constructed by J. Allen MacDonald with the Moutray, Maxwell, Neilson and Patterson families all being instrumental in aspects of its construction. The current church bell was cast in 1836 and is likely the original bell from St. James Anglican Church.

    • Full wheelchair access
    • Parking
    • Self-guided tours available
    • Washrooms

    Contact info

    5000 Front Road
    Stella, Amherst Island, Ontario
    https://www.facebook.com/StAlbansChurchAmherstIsland

    Architecture

    Year built: 1890
    Building type: Place of worship
    Architect: Unknown

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18

    St. Alban's Anglican Church, OdessaDoors Open Loyalist Township

    New

    St. Alban's Anglican Church, Odessa

    This stone church was originally built for the Methodist Episcopal congregation. Prominent local stonemasons, brothers William and Hugh Saul, had been contracted to complete the project. Construction began in 1870 and was completed by early 1871. The building’s structure remains 11 by 18 metres (36 by 60 feet), while the tower is four by 12 metres (13 by 41 feet).

    • Full wheelchair access
    • Guided tours available
    • Parking
    • Washrooms

    Architecture

    Year built: 1871
    Building type: Place of worship
    Architect: William and Hugh Saul

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18

    St. John's Anglican ChurchDoors Open Loyalist Township

    New

    St. John's Anglican Church

    Drop by and visit the quaint, little St. John's Anglican Church in the village of Bath and explore the craftsmanship of its traditional stained-glass windows. See if you can guess which of these windows has been carefully restored by a craftsman who also restored windows for the Parliament Buildings in Ottawa.

    • Full wheelchair access
    • Parking
    • Self-guided tours available
    • Washrooms

    Contact info

    212 Church Street
    Bath, Ontario
    Email: st.johns@cogeco.net
    https://stjohnsbath.ca

    Architecture

    Year built: 1785 (first structure); 1925 (current structure)
    Building type: Cemetery Place of worship
    Architect: Unknown

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18

    St. Peter's Anglican ChurchDoors Open Loyalist Township

    New

    St. Peter's Anglican Church

    The church's history began in 1956 when the Reverend James Peter Scanlon started a Sunday school in Collins Bay Public School. St. Peter’s was a partner church to various Anglican parishes in the area during its first few years of life, but it continued to grow and became a church on its own on July 1, 1979.

    • Full wheelchair access
    • Guided tours available
    • Parking
    • Washrooms

    Contact info

    4333 Bath Road
    Kingston, Ontario
    Email: stpeters.anglicanchurch1@gmail.com

    Architecture

    Year built: 1956
    Building type: Place of worship
    Architect: Unknown

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18

    Trinity Presbyterian ChurchDoors Open Loyalist Township

    New

    Trinity Presbyterian Church

    The Trinity congregation was established in 1960 at the Amherstview Community Presbyterian Church. Until 1970 when this church was completed and ready for use, services were held at the Amherstview Public School. The architecture of the sanctuary here is unique compared to what you find in other area churches. Visit during Doors Open to learn more about this unique site.

    • Full wheelchair access
    • Guided tours available
    • Parking
    • Washrooms

    Contact info

    9 Manitou Crescent West
    Amherstview, Ontario
    http://www.pccweb.ca

    Architecture

    Year built: 1968
    Building type: Place of worship
    Architect: E. Sullivan

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18

    Wilton CenotaphDoors Open Loyalist Township

    New

    Wilton Cenotaph

    The Wilton Cenotaph was assembled to remember and commemorate five members of the community who served and perished in the First World War. Unveiled on August 17, 1920, the cenotaph remains a community focal point each Remembrance Day. During Doors Open, hear the stories of this community’s fallen soldiers and learn more about Wilton’s past through guided tours.

    • Guided tours available
    • Parking
    • Self-guided tours available

    Contact info

    At the corner of Simmons and Fisk roads
    Wilton, Ontario

    Architecture

    Year built: 1920

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18

    Wilton Cheese FactoryDoors Open Loyalist Township

    New

    Wilton Cheese Factory

    This factory has been in operation since 1867 when the original building was constructed. It was taken over by a farmers’ co-operative in 1921. The current building was constructed in 1942 after a fire destroyed the original one. During Doors Open, there will be cheese sampling as well as a viewing area to see where the cheese is made.

    • Full wheelchair access
    • Parking

    Contact info

    287 Simmons Road
    Odessa, Ontario
    http://www.wiltoncheese.ca

    Architecture

    Year built: 1942 (original 1902 structure destroyed by fire)
    Building type: Commercial Food and drink
    Architect: Unknown

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18

    Wilton ChurchDoors Open Loyalist Township

    New

    Wilton Church

    This church was built in the late 1800s as part of the Holiness Movement Church, which was founded by R.C. Horner from Shawville, Quebec. In the mid-1980s, a two-storey addition was constructed that included a kitchen on the top floor and a Youth Room downstairs. The church was, and continues to be, active with the community and offers many programs.

    • Guided tours available
    • Parking
    • Washrooms

    Contact info

    242 Simmons Road
    Wilton, Ontario
    Email: wiltonchurch@kos.net
    https://www.wiltonchurch.ca

    Architecture

    Year built: 1898
    Building type: Place of worship
    Architect: Unknown

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18

    Wilton HallDoors Open Loyalist Township

    New

    Wilton Hall

    This limestone hall was originally the Wilton Wesleyan Methodist Church. It was built in the 1840s in what was then a thriving farming and mill community. Today, it is owned by Loyalist Township and cared for by the Wilton Community Association who took on its day-to-day management with a mandate to foster community spirit and encourage public use.

    • Guided tours available
    • Kid-friendly
    • Self-guided tours available
    • Washrooms

    Contact info

    251 Simmons Road
    Wilton, Ontario
    https://www.loyalist.ca/en/explore-and-play/wilton-hall.aspx

    Architecture

    Year built: 1873
    Building type: Place of worship
    Architect: William and Hugh Saul

    Dates/hours open

    Jun 18 - Jun 18