The village of Hastings straddles the Trent River near the border of Northumberland and Peterborough counties. In 1810, William Hare – the first Crown land grant holder – sold approximately 340 hectares (850 acres) to Scots entrepreneur James Crooks, who named the site “Crooks Rapids.” In 1835, the government began planning the Trent Canal system and, by 1844, a dam and log slide were completed at Hastings. Hastings industry included grist, woollen and lumber mills. Take a fascinating walking tour of the village and learn more about its early settlers, its history and some of its enduring architecture.
- Portes ouvertes en ligne
- Activités et jeux
- Visites auto-guidées
CoordonnéesStart at 60 Bridge Street South
ArchitectureAnnée de construction : Various
Dates/heures d'ouverturevendredi 1 mai – mercredi 31 mars 2021
Aperçu des sites accessibles dans le cadre de Portes ouvertes Trent Hills en ligne