1820 Log House in Waterloo ParkDigital Doors Open Waterloo Region

  • In-person
  • Digital Doors Open
  • 2024 theme: Adaptive reuse
  • Kid-friendly
  • Self-guided tours available
  • Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
  • Washrooms
  • Photography allowed
  • Videos
1820 Log House in Waterloo Park

Levi Carroll, born in Maryland, self-emancipated in 1843 and came to Canada via the Underground Railroad. Settling in Berlin (now Kitchener), he lived in Waterloo’s former log schoolhouse when it was located by Kitchener Collegiate Institute. This landmark now resides in Waterloo Park and is Ontario's oldest remaining log schoolhouse, standing as a tribute to education and Black resilience.

Waterloo’s first educational institution was a simple log schoolhouse, built in 1820. As the region expanded and outgrew the school’s modest capacity, this 5-metre by 6-metre (16-foot by 20-foot) structure served as a residence for the next 50 years. This important landmark now rests in Waterloo Park. Thanks to the efforts of many individuals and collectives over its 200-year history, it continues to serve the community. Among its many admirers is social historian Joanna Rickert-Hall who has written extensively about this historical gem and its relationship to other important local narratives. As part of Digital Doors Open, watch the video below for a behind-the-scenes experience of this historical gem.

Contact info

50 Young Street West
Waterloo, Ontario
E-mail: musuem@waterloo.ca


Year built: 1820
Building type:Private residenceSchoolhouse
Architectural style:Log structure

Dates/hours open

Sep 21, 10:00am - Sep 21, 04:00pm

Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.