- Digital Doors Open
- Collections and resources
Built as the Mary J.L. Black Library, this 1938 structure and its 1962 addition served the Westfort community as its first dedicated public library building until 2011. Now home to Open Mind Interiors, who specialize in creating innovative workspaces, this is an excellent example of a building’s adaptive re-use. Explore the showroom of this newly re-imagined building, which has intentionally kept a mix of old and new. Some of the original features retained include terrazzo floors and deco handrails, while new windows across the front allow natural light to pour into the workspace. While appreciating the transformation that has taken place, many will be reminded of the times spent visiting the library; attending a play or puppet show.
Contact info151 Brock Street West
Thunder Bay, Ontario
ArchitectureYear built: 1938 (1962 addition)
Architect: H.M. Scott (1938), Ranta & Tett Architects (1962 addition)
Architectural style:Art deco