Penetanguishene Centennial Museum and ArchivesDigital Doors Open Simcoe County
- Digital Doors Open
The building that now holds the Penetanguishene Centennial Museum and Archives was constructed in 1875 by Carl Beck. Its original function was a general company store for the workers in Beck’s nearby sawmills, and it carried everything from hardware to groceries. The Beck Company employees were paid partly in cash and partly in Beck tokens, which were only redeemable at this store and another similar one on Main Street, a method of payment that increased the company profits. At this museum, you will find Simcoe County's oldest car, a turn-of-the-century general store and other exhibits. This rectangular two-storey building still stands on its original site. Come and learn about the history of one of Ontario's oldest communities. While the museum is currently open, visitation is limited and visitors are encouraged to pre-book their visit through email or phone. For Digital Doors Open, however, explore the site through the video below.
Contact info13 Burke Street
ArchitectureYear built: 1875