- Digital Doors Open
Built in 1812-14 by Charles Oakes Ermatinger, the Ermatinger Old Stone House is one of the oldest stone buildings west of Toronto. It has served many purposes over the years — as a hotel, a sheriff's residence and, prior to being abandoned, apartments. Restored in 1967, the building is now a historical site and museum. For Digital Doors Open, watch the video below to discover why the Old Stone House was built, explore the Clergue Blockhouse (the private residence of Francis H. Clergue) and hear the tale of the transformation from a North West Company powder magazine.
Contact info800 Bay Street
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
ArchitectureYear built: 1812-14
Building type:Historical landmarkHistorical houseMuseum