- Digital Doors Open
The stone structure of Dominican University College (DUC) displays the vaulted ceilings typical of neo-Gothic design. An interior courtyard visible through large windows opens onto an elegant garden. The highly reputed library is distinguished by its stained glass and the Wilson Room, which is dedicated to antiquated books dating back to the 15th century. The DUC is housed in a grey stone heritage building, the Saint Jean-Baptiste Dominican convent, with its own church of the same name. Although it seems hard to believe it now but the formidable structure, proudly perched on top of Primrose Hill overlooking LeBreton Flats, was not always as invincible as it may appear at first sight. On the terrible night of February 8, 1931, a fire destroyed St. Jean-Baptiste church and part of the west wing of the old convent. A year later, during Easter 1932, the newly rebuilt convent and church were officially inaugurated. As part of Digital Doors Open, explore this site through the video below.
Contact info96 Empress Avenue
ArchitectureBuilding type:Educational facility
Architectural style:Gothic revival