- National Historic Site (Canada)
- Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
The Erland Lee (Museum) Home is a National Historic Site that serves to tell three stories: that of the Lee family, who lived in the home from 1808-1970, of the Stoney Creek community, and of the Women's Institute, which was founded in the home's dining room in February 1897. The Lee home is a beautiful example of carpenter's Gothic architecture.
The Erland Lee (Museum) Home is a National Historic Site of Canada owned and operated by the Federated Women’s Institutes of Ontario (FWIO). The original building was an 1808 log cabin where John and Mary (Moore) Lee raised their 11 children and grew fruit and grain, and raised livestock. Abram Lee expanded his childhood home in 1860 and 1873, completing it in the carpenter Gothic revival architectural style. In February 1897, the first Women’s Institute was founded in the Lee family’s dining room. The constitution was penned by Janet (Chisholm) Lee. The home was purchased from the Lee family by the FWIO in 1972 and stands today to celebrate the Women’s Institute, the Lee family and the history of Stoney Creek. Coming soon: Explore this house through a video tour as part of Digital Doors Open.
Contact info552 Ridge Road
Stoney Creek, Ontario
ArchitectureYear built: 1808; 1860 (addition); 1873 renovations and carriage house addition
Building type:AttractionHistorical landmarkHistorical houseMuseum
Architect: John Lee (1808); Abram Lee (1860 and 1873)
Architectural style:Gothic revival
Dates/hours openMay 07, 10:00am - May 07, 04:00pm
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.