Doors Open Ontario

Events Sites

Filter sites by: (add a filter)

Selected Filters

Available filters

Index
Events
Keywords
Geographic location

Building type
Architectural style
Landscape
Site services
Date
Doors Open Ontario presenting sponsor
Doors Open Ontario presenting sponsor

Aurora

Event information

Digital Doors Open Aurora

Explore some traditional Doors Open Aurora sites without having to leave home. The following sites offer tours, videos and activities that will engage people of all ages.

Close

Info from the Town of Aurora

Following increased and overwhelming concerns over the COVID-19 pandemic, the Town of Aurora has made the difficult decision to cancel this year’s Doors Open event originally scheduled for August 15, 2020.

We felt that this move to cancel the event is in the best interest of our participants, volunteers and visitors.

We would like to extend our sincere appreciation for your continuing support of the Doors Open event. We are looking with hope and excitement towards a time when we gather in person again to celebrate the town’s heritage, treasured places and communities.

Close

Aurora Borealis Orthodontics Doors Open Aurora

Aurora Borealis Orthodontics

The world’s only Star Trek-themed orthodontic office is filled with props from all of the Star Trek television series and motion pictures. The office has gathered worldwide attention – featured on CTV and Space, and in magazines and blogs. During Digital Doors Open, you will encounter Borg drones, concept artwork, medical devices, alien weaponry and technology, and even Tribbles. Explore this unique facility through their online slideshow or the video below. Live long and prosper!

Tell us your story about this site

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Video
  • Collections and resources

Contact info

15185 Yonge Street
Aurora, Ontario
www.auroraborealisorthodontics.com

Architecture

Building type: Commercial, Health-care facility

Dates/hours open

Friday May 1 – Saturday October 31, 2020
Part of Digital Doors Open Aurora

Aurora Public Library Doors Open Aurora

Aurora Public Library

Aurora’s public library service began in 1855 with the formation of the Aurora Association for the Diffusion of Helpful Knowledge, later called the Aurora Mechanics’ Institute and Library Association. From these early organizations emerged the Aurora Public Library, now a busy, architecturally modern community hub in the heart of Aurora. While this facility remains closed to the public, there are many Digital Doors Open opportunities available – from virtual science labs (see the sample video below), summer camps, cooking classes, speakers’ series and live-streaming storytelling to a digital bookshelf where you can read, watch listen and learn. Genealogy enthusiasts can also take advantage of the free access to the Library Edition of Ancestry.com. And there’s so much more!

Tell us your story about this site

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Video
  • Activities and games
  • Collections and resources
  • Kid-friendly

Contact info

15145 Yonge Street
Aurora, Ontario
www.library.aurora.on.ca

Architecture

Year built: 2001
Architect: Shore Tilbe Irwin & Partners
Building type: Library

Dates/hours open

Friday May 1 – Saturday October 31, 2020
Part of Digital Doors Open Aurora

Hillary House and Koffler Museum of Medicine Doors Open Aurora

Hillary House and Koffler Museum of Medicine

Hillary House – home of the Koffler Museum of Medicine and the Aurora Historical Society – is a treasured piece of Aurora’s history. It is recognized as one of Canada's best examples of Gothic revival architecture. The museum contains a significant collection of medical instruments, books, papers and furnishings. The Aurora Historical Society, founded in 1963, purchased the house in 1981. Hillary House was declared a National Historic Site in 1975. While Hillary House is now open again, with COVID-related visitor guidelines in place, you can explore many things about the property and its collections digitally (see the video below as a sample). In addition, there are several video recollections as part of the Let’s Talk: Oral History Aurora Project.

Tell us your story about this site

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Video
  • Collections and resources
  • National Historic Site (Canada)

Contact info

15372 Yonge Street
Aurora, Ontario
http://aurorahs.com

Architecture

Year built: 1862
Architect: Henry Harris
Architectural style: Gothic revival
Building type: Museum

Dates/hours open

Friday May 1 – Saturday October 31, 2020
Part of Digital Doors Open Aurora

portes ouvertes Ontario

Événements Sites

Filtrer les sites selon : (add a filter)

Selected Filters

Filtres possibles

Indice
Événements
Mots-clés
Emplacement géographique

Type de bâtiment
Style architectural
Paysage
Services du site
Date
Commanditaire principal de Portes ouvertes Ontario
Commanditaire principal de portes ouvertes Ontario

Aurora

Informations sur l'événement

Portes ouvertes Aurora en ligne

À l’occasion de Portes ouvertes Aurora, visitez quelques lieux traditionnels sans sortir de chez vous. Les lieux ci-dessous proposent des visites, des vidéos et des activités adaptées aux personnes de tous âges.

Fermer

Renseignements de la ville d'Aurora

Face à l’inquiétude croissante et dévorante suscitée par la pandémie de COVID-19, la Ville d’Aurora s’est résolue à regret à annuler l’édition 2020 de Portes ouvertes, dont le déroulement était prévu le 15 août.

À notre sens, il y va de l’intérêt supérieur des participants, bénévoles et visiteurs à cet événement.

Permettez-nous de vous remercier sincèrement pour l’appui que vous continuez de donner à Portes ouvertes. La perspective d’un futur rassemblement où nous nous rapprocherons pour célébrer de nouveau notre patrimoine, les lieux que nous chérissons et nos parties prenantes nous remplit d’espoir et d’enthousiasme.

Fermer

Bibliothèque municipale d'Aurora Portes ouvertes Aurora

Bibliothèque municipale d'Aurora

Les débuts du service de bibliothèque publique d’Aurora remontent à 1855 avec la création de l’Aurora Association for the Diffusion of Helpful Knowledge, plus tard appelée l’Aurora Mechanics’ Institute and Library Association. Ces premières organisations ont donné lieu par la suite à la fondation de la bibliothèque publique d’Aurora, qui est aujourd’hui un carrefour fébrile au style architectural moderne au cœur de la ville d’Aurora. Bien que cet établissement demeure fermé au public, de nombreuses possibilités sont offertes dans le cadre de l’événement « Portes ouvertes en ligne », notamment des laboratoires scientifiques virtuels (voir la vidéo ci-dessous), des camps d’été, des cours de cuisine, des séries de conférences, des récits en direct et une bibliothèque numérique où vous pouvez lire, visionner, écouter et apprendre. Les amateurs de généalogie peuvent également profiter de l’accès gratuit à Library Edition of Ancestry.com. Et bien plus encore!

Racontez-nous un souvenir ou une anecdote au sujet de ce site

  • Portes ouvertes en ligne
  • Vidéo
  • Activités et jeux
  • Collections et ressources
  • Adapté aux enfants

Coordonnées

15145, rue Yonge
Aurora, Ontario
www.library.aurora.on.ca

Architecture

Année de construction : 2001
Architect: Shore Tilbe Irwin & Partners
Type de bâtiment : Bibliothèque

Dates/heures d'ouverture

vendredi 1 mai – mercredi 31 mars 2021
Aperçu des sites accessibles dans le cadre de Portes ouvertes Aurora en ligne

Clinique d’orthodontie Aurora Borealis Orthodontics Portes ouvertes Aurora

Clinique d’orthodontie Aurora Borealis Orthodontics

Rendez-vous à la seule clinique d’orthodontie au monde qui soit aménagée sous le thème de Star Trek! Nos locaux sont pleins d’accessoires de la série télévisée et des films. Notre clinique a attiré l’attention des médias du monde entier : CTV, Space et de nombreux magazines et blogues. Lors de l’événement « Portes ouvertes en ligne », vous verrez des drones Borg, des œuvres d’art, des appareils médicaux, des armes et technologies extraterrestres, et même des Tribbles. Découvrez cet établissement unique grâce à son diaporama en ligne ou à la vidéo ci dessous. Longue vie et prospérité!

Racontez-nous un souvenir ou une anecdote au sujet de ce site

  • Portes ouvertes en ligne
  • Vidéo
  • Collections et ressources

Coordonnées

15185, rue Yonge
Aurora, Ontario
www.auroraborealisorthodontics.com

Architecture

Type de bâtiment : Commercial, Établissement de soins de santé

Dates/heures d'ouverture

vendredi 1 mai – mercredi 31 mars 2021
Aperçu des sites accessibles dans le cadre de Portes ouvertes Aurora en ligne

Maison Hillary et musée Koffler de la médecine Portes ouvertes Aurora

Maison Hillary et musée Koffler de la médecine

Maison Hillary et musée Koffler de la médecine

La maison Hillary, où se trouvent le Musée Koffler de la médecine et la Société historique d’Aurora, est un élément précieux de l’histoire d’Aurora. Elle est reconnue comme l’un des meilleurs exemples du renouveau de l’architecture gothique au Canada. Le musée propose une importante collection d’instruments médicaux, de livres, de documents et de meubles. La Société historique d’Aurora, fondée en 1963, a acheté la maison en 1981. La maison Hillary a été déclarée lieu historique national en 1975. Bien que la maison Hillary soit de nouveau ouverte, compte tenu des lignes directrices liées à la COVID-19 pour les visiteurs, vous pouvez explorer de nombreux éléments de la propriété et de ses collections en format numérique (voir la vidéo ci-dessous pour un échantillon). En outre, plusieurs souvenirs sont évoqués dans la vidéo Let’s Talk: Oral History Aurora Project.

Racontez-nous un souvenir ou une anecdote au sujet de ce site

  • Portes ouvertes en ligne
  • Vidéo
  • Collections et ressources
  • Lieu historique national (Canada)

Coordonnées

15372, rue Yonge
Aurora, Ontario
http://aurorahs.com

Architecture

Année de construction : 1862
Architect: Henry Harris
Style architectural : Néo-gothique
Type de bâtiment : Musée

Dates/heures d'ouverture

vendredi 1 mai – mercredi 31 mars 2021
Aperçu des sites accessibles dans le cadre de Portes ouvertes Aurora en ligne