Doors Open Ontario

With so many Digital Doors Open sites to discover, it’s hard to know where to begin.

Explore the following suggested itineraries – or “staytrips” – and discover sites that may be completely new, or stories that certainly are. Sometimes, too, the digital experience is something that you cannot have any other way.

Take a staytrip from the comfort of your own home and find some sites throughout Ontario that will make you want to visit them in the future!


General tour | New discoveries | Covering the province | Educational resources | Getting back to nature | Ontario film sets | Food and drink | Museums large and small | Mad about the art | Architectural and engineering marvels | Home sweet home | Ontario theatres | Going behind the scenes

General tour

Take a digital tour of Ontario! Visit the breathtaking Sleeping Giant Provincial Park in the morning, followed by learning about Ontario’s Black heritage at Uncle Tom’s Cabin Historic Site. Then, make a stopover in Ottawa to explore the Canadian War Museum (and play their popular online game), followed by an exploration of the ancient Mnjikaning Fish Weirs in Orillia, which were built by the Wendat. Finish your day with a thrilling virtual fireworks display at Canada’s Wonderland.


New discoveries

Discover some new sites in Ontario ... virtually. Wander through the evocative Brockville Railway Tunnel. Then take a zipline adventure across Niagara Falls. Stop by Camp X for some spy training fun. Visit the Warsaw Caves Conservation Area for some socially distanced spelunking. And end the day at the David Dunlap Observatory by taking a peek at the stars.


Covering the province

From one end of the province to the other, Digital Doors Open offers something for everyone. Start your day in Thunder Bay with a walking tour of one of the city’s fascinating districts. Discover your inner artist at the Art Gallery of Ontario. Go bird watching at Tommy Thompson Park (don’t forget to download your free birder’s guide). Take an aerial tour of the beautiful Olmsted gardens at Brockville’s Fulford Place mansion. And round out the day with an online performance of a Shakespeare classic at the Stratford Festival.


Educational resources

Visit these sites and explore their educational resources – for teachers and students. Start your journey at the Toronto Zoo and explore their behind-the-scenes activities, educator resources, podcasts and Facebook Live sessions with experts and animals. Then swing by Burlington’s Royal Botanical Gardens to check out all of their kids’ activities, teacher resources (including virtual field trips and lesson plans), and recipes in their popular Culinary Corner. Next stop: the Archives of Ontario, where you can discover workshops and online resources for students and educators, as well as extensive genealogical resources for tracing your ancestry. Spend a while in Stratford exploring the famous Stratford Festival and learn more about Shakespeare and his theatre through the Festival’s extensive study guides. Wander over to the nation’s capital and visit the Canadian War Museum and learn about Canada’s wartime past through a series of online exhibits, research guides, games and activities. Stop by the Enoch Turner Schoolhouse and take a virtual tour to learn more about this site – Toronto’s oldest-standing school. Wander the gallery spaces of the McMichael Canadian Art Collection and find resources for virtual classrooms, teacher retreats and more. Finish the day at the Ontario Science Centre and enjoy some hands-on fun through easy-to-follow videos, or explore their curriculum resources to feed those hungry minds.


Getting back to nature

Get outside with Digital Doors Open! Many of these natural sites are open for in-person visits, but you can also have a great digital experience. Start the day at Tommy Thompson Park, a 250-hectare park in downtown Toronto, where you can have great hikes or explore over 300 species of birds! Sleeping Giant Provincial Park in Thunder Bay offers spectacular views from the top of the giant. Burlington’s Royal Botanical Gardens provides over 1,100 hectares of environmentally sensitive areas (including trails) for you to explore – with gardens and natural spaces – in every season. Take in another botanical garden at the Oshawa Valley Botanical Gardens, where you can enjoy an immersive experience online or in person. Visit the majestic Niagara Falls where you can just stare in awe at the grandeur of the site – or get more adventurous with a virtual zipline or helicopter ride. Midland’s Wye Marsh Wildlife Centre offers lots of great at-home activities and videos so that you’ll feel like you’re right there. Explore the spectacular Warsaw Caves Conservation Area and go digital spelunking. And finish the day taking an aerial tour of the scenic Elora Gorge.


Ontario film sets

Heritage sites often make great backdrops. Visit some of these treasures and get behind the scenes at some of Ontario’s most spectacular film sets. In Toronto, there are many sites that have been film sets for major motion pictures and television series ... starting with Toronto’s Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre – the backdrop for such films as The Shape of Water, Chicago and most recently another Guillermo del Toro flick called Nightmare Alley. Just down the street, at the Ontario Heritage Centre, filming remains a large part of their operations – with such films as Cinderella Man and Serendipity and TV shows like The Handmaid’s Tale, The Umbrella Academy and Queer as Folk. Across town stands the resplendent George Brown House, home to one of our Fathers of Confederation … and film set to several episodes of Murdoch Mysteries. Then make a sidetrip to Oshawa where you’ll find a site that is not so much known for its film activity as it is for the inspiration behind a hit television series. Camp X was once home to a top-secret spy training school and became the inspiration for the CBC’s hit series X Company. End your day in Cambridge where much of the downtown became the set for The Handmaid’s Tale. Learn how the city became the fictional town of Gilead, as well as take a tour of Cambridge to see some of the key filming locations. See Ontario’s heritage from a whole new perspective.


Food and drink

From a family farmstead and a former schoolhouse to an old foundry and a telephone exchange, heritage sites have changed over the years to offer state-of-the-art farming techniques and new uses. Let’s begin the day taking a tour of the Bench Brewing Company in Lincoln, where you can see how this former schoolhouse has been converted into a new brewery. Spend the next while in Waterloo Region and visit two farm operations that have been in their respective families for generations: Eby Manor Golden Guernsey Milk and Martin’s Family Fruit Farm. Tapestry Hall in Cambridge, once an old foundry, has become home to a thriving event venue and brewhouse business. Down in Niagara-on-the-Lake, an old telephone exchange building has been converted into The Exchange Brewery ... even retaining some of the site’s original features. A 1950s beer store in Oshawa has been converted into the popular All or Nothing Brewhouse, where you can take a virtual tour of the brewing process from barley to beer can.


Museums large and small

Ontario’s museums are repositories of our rich and diverse history. Visit these sites and learn about our past in unique and enriching ways. Start the day in Chatham-Kent at the Buxton National Historic Site and Museum where you can discover Ontario’s Black heritage. Make a stop at the Royal Ontario Museum and delve into the distant past where you’ll find ancient mummies, dinosaurs, European cultures and Canadiana collections (you can even make your own dino eggs)! Then visit the Erchless Estate in Oakville, the family home of the town’s founding family, the Chisholms. The Oakville Museum delves into the community’s history – watch for the Underground Railroad exhibit upstairs. Next, we whisk to Ottawa where you can explore the BYTOWN Museum to learn about Ottawa’s history, with a special focus on the Rideau Canal. Then march across town to the moving Canadian War Museum to learn about Canada’s military past. From here, we learn about the history of agriculture – and particularly cheesemaking – at the Ingersoll Cheese & Agricultural Museum. Aviation enthusiasts will thrill at the many exhibits contained in Quinte West’s National Air Force Museum. Learn about the history of Simcoe County at the Museum on the Boyne, complete with an old log house and barn. Heading north now, we have to stop at the Timmins Museum: National Exhibition Centre to brush up on our northern history. Now, we fly off to Guelph to discover a unique collection at the Hammond Museum of Radio. Then make a stop in Oshawa and learn about the history of the car at the Canadian Automotive Museum, housed in a 1920s car dealership. While not an actual museum, Research Casting International in Trenton actually makes replica dinosaurs for museums around the world as well as for films like Jurassic Park! What a fascinating way to end your day. Whew!


Mad about the art

Art offers a great way of learning about our province and the people who came before us. Visit these sites to discover Ontario’s artistic splendour. Begin the day with a visit to the Peel Art Gallery, Museum and Archives in Brampton, housed in an old courthouse and jail. Then stop by the Art Gallery of Ontario and immerse yourself in nearly 95,000 pieces of art (as well as do some activities to help you discover your inner artist). Wander through the online galleries at Innisfil’s Be Contemporary Gallery, which is housed in a heritage building that has been a general store and a library. Then visit the former home and studio of artist Doris McCarthy – Fool’s Paradise on the spectacular Scarborough Bluffs. Then stop by the Robert McLaughlin Gallery in Oshawa, Durham Region’s largest gallery, and enjoy a guided tour of the permanent collection. No art trip would be complete without a stop at the McMichael Canadian Art Collection, where you can study Indigenous masterpieces as well as Group of Seven canvases. You can end your day where you started, in Brampton, at the Beaux Arts Brampton – and explore more modern pieces by new and established artists.


Architectural and engineering marvels

Sometimes, the architecture itself is enough to blow you away. Here are some architectural and engineering marvels – new and old – that continue to wow visitors. Let’s begin at the Diefenbunker: Canada’s Cold War Museum, near Ottawa, which was built to protect the government from a nuclear attack. The Brockville Railway Tunnel is a unique structure in the middle of town, with resources to help you learn more about Canada’s railway history as well as take a pretty cool walk through this brilliant tunnel. Heading north, we can stop by the octagonal Thunder Bay Tourist Pagoda – Canada’s oldest continuously operating tourist information bureau. The Brampton Fire Services Apparatus and Maintenance Facility is a massive modern structure that provides maintenance for large fire trucks as well as training facilities for firefighters. Dundurn Castle in Hamilton is the next stop on the itinerary. Take a guided tour of this 1834 villa and learn more about this grand country estate. Richmond Hill’s 1935 David Dunlap Observatory allows you to gaze at the stars, albeit virtually right now (don’t forget to download your star gazer map). Then we’re off to Waterloo Region where we find the spectacular Shand Dam, opened in 1942 – an architectural feat of engineering. Finally, we end the day in Whitby at a site not so much known for what it currently has, but for what it once had. Camp X was the site of a Second World War spy training school. While no buildings remain today, the site remains an evocative location for this fascinating history.


Home sweet home

Digital Doors Open features many old homes that have taken on new roles. Check out some of these magnificent structures for yourself. Let’s begin with Oshawa’s Parkwood National Historic Site – a 55-room mansion complete with period rooms and spectacular manicured gardens. Next stop is Belleville, where ornate interiors await at the Glanmore National Historic Site. Fulford Place in Brockville is an Edwardian mansion that belonged to the wealthy and influential Fulford family. Don’t miss the Olmsted gardens. Next, we swing down to Southwest Ontario for a tour of Uncle Tom’s Cabin Historic Site, the homestead of Josiah Henson who escaped slavery in the United States. Returning to the Greater Toronto Area, don’t miss Heintzman House in Markham – the home of the grandson of the founder of the Heintzman Piano Company. Hillary House in nearby Aurora is a Gothic revival structure that now houses the Koffler Museum of Medicine. Brampton packs a double-whammy with two historical homes – the 19th-century Alderlea, which is now a rental venue, and the Georgian-style Historic Bovaird House, which is today a museum. Down the road a bit is The Grange, a historical home that is today the home to Heritage Mississauga. And, finally, there’s the Auchmar Manor House in Hamilton – a heritage landmark with a storied past.


Ontario theatres

Curtains up on Ontario’s heritage! Follow this itinerary to see some iconic theatres throughout the province. The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre in downtown Toronto is the last operating double-decker theatre in the world. Brampton provides a double-punch of theatrical fun with the Lester B. Pearson Memorial Theatre – a creative hub for performing arts groups – and The Rose, a performing destination for local and world-renowned performers. The Regent Theatre in Oshawa has a fascinating past from cinema to live performances to its current use as a lecture hall for Ontario Tech University. Of course, no trip around Ontario would be complete with a stop at the Stratford Festival – North America’s largest classical repertory theatre company. Break a leg!


Going behind the scenes

Let’s go behind the scenes at some of Digital Doors Open’s more fascinating sites for rare, exclusive opportunities! These sites offer exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences that you cannot have any other way but through Digital Doors Open. Start your day in Waterloo Region at the Shand Dam, where you will have exclusive behind-the-scenes access throughout this engineering marvel’s superstructure. In nearby Cambridge, stop by the Cambridge Butterfly Conservatory and have a behind-the-scenes experience at this tropical paradise. Heading north, we find ourselves at the Thunder Bay Museum for an exclusive behind-the-scenes tour with the museum’s executive director and a knowledgeable curator. Stop by the Stratford Festival for some exclusive interviews with Shakespearean actors and production staff. Brampton’s Peel Art Gallery, Museum and Archives for a rare opportunity to explore a sketchbook from none other than artist Tom Thompson. And finish your day at the Toronto Zoo where Wild Encounters program lets you get up close and personal with kangaroos, rhinos and grizzly bears. Oh my!

portes ouvertes Ontario

Il y a tant de sites à visiter dans le cadre de Portes ouvertes en ligne qu’il est difficile de savoir par lequel commencer.

Parcourez donc les suggestions d’itinéraires – ou « séjours » – suivantes pour découvrir des sites que vous ne connaissez peut-être pas et des histoires qui vous surprendront certainement. Parfois, rien de mieux qu’une expérience virtuelle pour profiter pleinement de certains trésors.

Partez en excursion à travers tout l’Ontario sans quitter votre canapé pour découvrir en ligne des sites qui vous donneront envie de les visiter dans le monde réel!


Visite générale | Nouvelles découvertes | Un aperçu de toute la province | Ressources pédagogiques | Retour à la nature | Plateaux de tournage en Ontario | À boire et à manger | Petits et grands musées | Avis aux amateurs d’art | Merveilles architecturales et techniques | Rien ne vaut la douceur du foyer | Les théâtres de l’Ontario | Derrière les coulisses

Visite générale

Effectuez une visite virtuelle de l’Ontario! Découvrez l’impressionnant parc provincial Sleeping Giant dans la matinée, puis familiarisez-vous avec le patrimoine noir de l’Ontario sur le site historique de la Case de l’oncle Tom. Faites ensuite une escale à Ottawa pour vous rendre au Musée canadien de la guerre et jouer à son jeu en ligne populaire, avant d’explorer les anciens Barrages-de-Pêche-Mnjikaning d’Orillia, construits par les Hurons-Wendats. Enfin, terminez votre journée par un superbe feu d’artifice virtuel dans le parc Canada’s Wonderland.


Nouvelles découvertes

Découvrez de nouveaux sites de l’Ontario... en ligne. Promenez-vous dans le charmant tunnel ferroviaire de Brockville. Découvrez ensuite les chutes Niagara en tyrolienne. Passez au camp X pour suivre une formation d'espion ludique. Visitez la zone de protection de la nature des Cavernes Warsaw afin de pratiquer la spéléologie en respectant la distance sociale. Terminez la journée à l'observatoire David Dunlap en observant les étoiles.


Un aperçu de toute la province

D’un bout à l’autre de l’Ontario, tout le monde trouvera son bonheur lors de Portes ouvertes en ligne. Commencez votre journée par une visite à pied de l'un des quartiers captivants de Thunder Bay. Découvrez l'artiste qui est en vous au Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario. Partez à la découverte des oiseaux au parc Tommy Thompson (n'oubliez pas de télécharger votre guide ornithologique gratuit). Survolez les magnifiques jardins Olmsted du manoir de la Place Fulford à Brockville. Pour clôturer la journée, assistez à une représentation en ligne d'un classique de Shakespeare au Festival de Stratford.


Ressources pédagogiques

Rendez-vous sur ces sites pour découvrir leurs ressources pédagogiques, destinées au personnel enseignant et aux élèves. Entamez votre voyage au zoo de Toronto, qui vous propose des activités en coulisses, des ressources pédagogiques, des balados ainsi que des séances en direct sur Facebook avec des spécialistes et des animaux. Puis faites un crochet par les Jardins botaniques royaux de Burlington afin de jeter un coup d’œil aux activités pour les enfants, aux ressources pédagogiques (qui comprennent des excursions scolaires virtuelles et des plans de leçons) ainsi qu’aux recettes de leur super coin culinaire. Prochain arrêt : les Archives publiques de l’Ontario, où vous pourrez assister à des ateliers et trouver des ressources en ligne pour les élèves et le personnel éducatif ainsi que de vastes ressources généalogiques qui vous permettront de retrouver vos ancêtres. Assistez ensuite au célèbre Festival de Stratford pour vous familiariser avec Shakespeare et ses pièces à l’aide des guides d’étude complets du festival. Rendez-vous également dans la capitale nationale pour visiter le Musée canadien de la guerre et en apprendre davantage sur le passé militaire du Canada grâce à une série d’expositions, de guides de recherche, de jeux et d’activités. Après cela, faites une halte à l’école Enoch Turner, la plus ancienne école existante de Toronto, pour en effectuer une visite virtuelle. Et pensez à parcourir les galeries de la Collection McMichael d’art canadien, tout en profitant de classes virtuelles, d’une programmation pour les enseignants et de bien d’autres activités. Enfin, terminez votre journée au Centre des sciences de l’Ontario pour faire des activités pratiques et amusantes grâce à ses vidéos faciles à comprendre ou explorer ses ressources en enseignement afin de satisfaire la curiosité des enfants.


Retour à la nature

Prenez l’air grâce à Portes ouvertes en ligne! Un grand nombre de ces sites naturels sont ouverts aux visites en personne, mais vous pouvez également vivre une superbe expérience en ligne. Entamez la journée au parc Tommy Thompson, espace vert de 250 hectares situé dans le centre-ville de Toronto, idéal pour vous promener ou découvrir plus de 300 espèces d’oiseaux! Le parc provincial Sleeping Giant de Thunder Bay possède quant à lui des points de vue spectaculaires en hauteur, tandis que les Jardins botaniques royaux de Burlington offrent plus de 1 100 hectares de zones écologiquement sensibles constituées de jardins et d’espaces naturels (avec des sentiers) pour que vous puissiez y faire de la randonnée en toute saison. Si l’expérience vous a plu, rendez-vous dans les jardins botaniques de la vallée d’Oshawa, qui vous proposent une expérience immersive en ligne ou en personne. Visitez également les chutes Niagara pour en contempler simplement la grandeur ou vous essayer à une descente en tyrolienne virtuelle, voire à une promenade en hélicoptère. Le Centre de la faune du marais Wye de Midland offre, lui, un grand nombre d’activités à faire à la maison et de vidéos, qui vous donneront l’impression d’y être. Explorez aussi l’impressionnante aire de conservation des cavernes Warsaw et faites de la spéléologie en ligne. Pour finir la journée, effectuez une visite aérienne de la gorge Elora et profitez de ses vues panoramiques.


Plateaux de tournage en Ontario

Les sites patrimoniaux font souvent de superbes décors. Visitez donc quelques-uns de ces trésors et découvrez les coulisses de certains plateaux de tournage parmi les plus spectaculaires de l’Ontario. À Toronto, de nombreux sites ont servi de plateaux de tournage pour de grandes productions cinématographiques et séries télévisées, à commencer par le Centre des salles de théâtre Elgin et Winter Garden, que l’on peut apercevoir notamment dans les films La Forme de l’eau, Chicago et, plus récemment, Nightmare Alley de Guillermo del Toro. Plus bas dans la rue, les locaux du Centre du patrimoine ontarien servent souvent à tourner des films, tels que Cinderella Man et Heureux hasard, ou des séries télévisées, telles que La Servante écarlate, Umbrella Academy et Queer as Folk. De l’autre côté de la ville, la resplendissante maison George Brown, ayant autrefois appartenu à l’un des Pères de la Fédération, a accueilli le tournage de plusieurs épisodes de la série Les Enquêtes de Murdoch. Faites ensuite un crochet à Oshawa, afin de découvrir un site encore peu connu pour son activité cinématographique, bien qu’il ait accueilli le tournage d’une série télévisée à succès : source d’inspiration de la série à succès de Radio-Canada X Company, le Camp X a autrefois abrité une école de formation d’espions top secrète. Enfin, terminez votre journée à Cambridge, dont la majeure partie du centre-ville a servi à tourner La Servante écarlate. Découvrez comment elle est devenue la ville fictive de Gilead et visitez-la pour voir certains des principaux lieux de tournage. Admirez le patrimoine de l’Ontario d’un tout nouveau point de vue.


À boire et à manger

D’une ferme familiale à une ancienne école en passant par une fonderie et un central téléphonique, certains sites patrimoniaux ont évolué au fil des années pour changer d’utilisation et proposer des techniques agricoles de pointe. Commencez la journée à Lincoln pour explorer la Bench Brewing Company, ancienne école reconvertie en brasserie. Passez ensuite un moment dans la région de Waterloo, afin de visiter deux exploitations agricoles appartenant à leurs familles respectives depuis des générations : la production de lait Golden Guernsey à Eby Manor et l’exploitation fruitière de la famille Martin. Ancienne fonderie située à Cambridge, Tapestry Hall abrite aujourd’hui, quant à elle, une salle d’événements et une brasserie prospères. Plus loin, à Niagara-on-the-Lake, Exchange Brewery a élu domicile dans un ancien central téléphonique, conservant même certaines des caractéristiques originales du site. À Oshawa, un magasin de bières des années 1950 a, lui, laissé place à la brasserie populaire All or Nothing, où vous pouvez profiter d’une présentation virtuelle du brassage – de l’orge à la canette.


Petits et grands musées

Les musées de l’Ontario sont les gardiens de notre histoire riche et diverse. Visitez-les pour découvrir notre passé de manière unique et enrichissante. Entamez la journée sur le lieu historique national du Canada et musée de l’Établissement-Buxton de Chatham-Kent pour vous familiariser avec le patrimoine noir de l’Ontario, avant de faire une halte au Musée royal de l’Ontario pour plonger dans un passé lointain, à la découverte de momies et de dinosaures (avec la possibilité de fabriquer vos propres œufs), de cultures européennes et de collections canadiennes! Visitez ensuite le domaine Erchless d’Oakville, résidence de la famille fondatrice de la ville, les Chisholm. Pour sa part, le musée d’Oakville retrace l’histoire locale. D’ailleurs, ne manquez pas son exposition consacrée au chemin de fer clandestin à l’étage. Après cela, faites un saut à Ottawa pour explorer le Musée BYTOWN et en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire de cette ville, en particulier sur le canal Rideau. Puis traversez la ville pour vous rendre au Musée canadien de la guerre et vous plonger dans le passé militaire du Canada. De là, rendez-vous au musée du fromage et de l’agriculture d’Ingersoll pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire de l’agriculture et surtout celle du fromage. Pour leur part, les nombreuses expositions du Musée national de la Force aérienne de Quinte West donneront des frissons aux amateurs d’aviation, tandis que le Museum on the Boyne, qui comprend également une maison en bois rond et une grange, retrace l’histoire du comté de Simcoe. Cap ensuite vers le Nord pour visiter le Musée de Timmins : Centre national d’exposition et réviser l’histoire de cette région. Après cela, envolez-vous pour Guelph, dont le Musée Hammond de la Radio abrite une collection unique. Puis escale à Oshawa pour découvrir l’histoire de la voiture au Musée canadien de l’automobile, situé chez un ancien concessionnaire des années 1920. Enfin, bien qu’elle ne soit pas un véritable musée, Research Casting International, entreprise située à Trenton, fabrique des répliques de dinosaures pour les musées du monde entier et des films tels que Le Parc jurassique! Waouh, quelle manière fascinante de terminer la journée!


Avis aux amateurs d’art

L’art est un excellent moyen d’en apprendre davantage sur notre province et les personnes qui nous ont précédés. Visitez ces sites pour découvrir la splendeur artistique de l’Ontario. Entamez la journée en visitant la galerie d’art, le musée et les archives Peel de Brampton, qui servaient autrefois de palais de justice et de prison. Faites ensuite une halte au Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario pour découvrir près de 95 000 œuvres d’art (et profiter d’activités destinées à révéler l’artiste qui se cache en vous). Flânez également dans les allées virtuelles de la galerie be contemporary d’Innisfil, située dans un édifice du patrimoine qui était autrefois un magasin général et une bibliothèque. Puis rendez-vous au « Paradis d’une folle », ancienne demeure de l’artiste Doris McCarthy, qui était également son studio, sur les spectaculaires falaises Scarborough. N’oubliez pas non plus d’aller à la galerie Robert McLaughlin d’Oshawa, la plus importante de la région de Durham, pour effectuer une visite guidée de sa collection permanente. D’ailleurs, impossible de faire une escapade artistique sans s’arrêter à la Collection McMichael d’art canadien, où l’on peut étudier des chefs-d’œuvre autochtones ainsi que des toiles du Groupe des sept. Enfin, vous pouvez terminer votre journée où vous l’avez commencée pour explorer les œuvres plus modernes d’artistes établis ou nouveaux des Beaux Arts Brampton.


Merveilles architecturales et techniques

Parfois, l’architecture elle-même suffit à nous couper le souffle. Voici quelques merveilles architecturales et techniques – anciennes et nouvelles – qui continuent d’impressionner les visiteurs. Commencez par le Diefenbunker – Musée canadien de la Guerre froide, abri construit près d’Ottawa pour protéger le gouvernement en cas d’attaque nucléaire. Structure singulière située en centre-ville, le tunnel ferroviaire de Brockville vous propose, quant à lui, de consulter des ressources sur l’histoire du chemin de fer au Canada et de traverser un ouvrage brillant. Plus au nord, vous pouvez faire une halte au pavillon d’information touristique de Thunder Bay, magnifique bâtiment octogonal qui est le plus ancien bureau d’information touristique du Canada dont les portes sont toujours ouvertes. De son côté, l’installation d’entretien et des engins du service des incendies de Brampton est un bâtiment moderne et impressionnant destiné à la maintenance des grands camions d’incendie et à la formation des pompiers. Prochaine étape de votre itinéraire : le château Dundurn de Hamilton. Effectuez une visite guidée pour en apprendre davantage sur cette vaste demeure de campagne construite en 1834. Érigé à Richmond Hill en 1935, l’observatoire David Dunlap permet, lui, de contempler les étoiles – en ligne pour l’instant. (Pensez à télécharger votre carte d’astronome en herbe.) Gagnez ensuite la région de Waterloo pour admirer le spectaculaire barrage Shand, chef-d’œuvre d’architecture et d’ingénierie inauguré en 1942. Enfin, terminez la journée à Whitby pour découvrir un site qui doit sa célébrité moins à ses bâtiments disparus qu’à son riche passé : le Camp X a abrité une école de formation d’espions pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Même sans bâtiment, ce site reste un lieu évocateur grâce à son histoire passionnante.


Rien ne vaut la douceur du foyer

Portes ouvertes en ligne présente un grand nombre d’anciennes demeures reconverties. Venez donc admirer certains de ces superbes édifices. Commencez par le lieu historique national du Canada Parkwood d’Oshawa, manoir de 55 pièces avec des salles d’époque et des jardins magnifiquement entretenus, avant de vous rendre à Belleville, où vous attendent les ornementations des intérieurs du lieu historique national du Canada Glanmore. La Place Fulford de Brockville est, elle, une demeure édouardienne ayant appartenu à la riche et influente famille Fulford. Ne manquez pas de visiter les jardins aménagés par les Olmsted. Rendez-vous ensuite dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario pour une visite du site historique de la Case de l’oncle Tom, propriété familiale de Josiah Henson, qui a fui les États-Unis en raison de l’esclavagisme. De retour dans la région du grand Toronto, ne manquez pas de visiter la maison Heintzman de Markham, ancienne demeure du petit-fils du fondateur de la Heintzman Piano Company. Située près d’Aurora, la maison Hillary témoigne, pour sa part, du renouveau de l’architecture gothique et abrite désormais le musée de la médecine Koffler. Direction ensuite Brampton, qui offre non pas une mais deux maisons historiques : l’Alderlea, bâtisse du XIXe siècle transformée en lieu de location, et la maison Bovaird historique, de style georgien, devenue un musée. Si vous continuez un peu, vous trouverez également la grange, maison historique qui abrite aujourd’hui la fondation du patrimoine de Mississauga. Enfin, explorez le manoir Auchmar de Hamilton, haut lieu du patrimoine, comptant un riche passé.


Les théâtres de l’Ontario

Lever de rideau sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario! Suivez cet itinéraire pour admirer les théâtres emblématiques de la province. Situé dans le centre-ville de Toronto, le Centre des salles de théâtre Elgin et Winter Garden est le dernier théâtre à deux étages encore en fonction au monde. Pour sa part, Brampton propose deux fois plus de divertissement avec le théâtre commémoratif Lester B. Pearson, centre créatif qui rassemble des groupes d’arts de la scène, et The Rose, destination incontournable pour les artistes locaux et de renommée mondiale. Le théâtre Regent d’Oshawa possède, lui, un passé fascinant : ancien cinéma connu ensuite pour ses interprétations en direct, il sert aujourd’hui d’amphithéâtre à l’Institut universitaire de technologie de l’Ontario. Et, évidemment, aucun voyage autour de la province ne saurait faire l’impasse sur le Festival de Stratford, plus grande compagnie de théâtre au répertoire classique d’Amérique du Nord. Bonne représentation!


Derrière les coulisses

Nous vous dévoilons la face cachée de certains sites de Portes ouvertes en ligne parmi les plus fascinants pour des occasions rares et exclusives! Ces sites offrent des expériences secrètes que seul Portes ouvertes en ligne saura vous garantir. Entamez la journée au barrage Shand, dans la région de Waterloo, pour découvrir en exclusivité sa structure gigantesque et sa merveilleuse ingénierie. Faites ensuite une halte au conservatoire de papillons de Cambridge pour connaître tous les secrets de ce paradis tropical, avant de prendre la direction du Nord pour visiter les coulisses du musée de Thunder Bay avec son directeur général et son conservateur. Puis passez par le Festival de Stratford pour écouter quelques entrevues exclusives avec des comédiens shakespeariens et des membres de la production. La galerie d’art, le musée et les archives Peel de Brampton représentent, quant à eux, une rare occasion de contempler l’un des carnets de croquis de l’artiste Tom Thompson en personne. Enfin, terminez la journée au zoo de Toronto, dont le programme en coulisses Wild Encounters vous permet de faire la connaissance de kangourous, de rhinocéros et de grizzlys. Waouh!