During the War of 1812, retreating Americans burned the original church (c. 1803-06) to the ground. In 1819, a new brick church was built. Additions were made in 1843 and 1852. In 1871, the rear portion of the building was rebuilt in the Gothic style. Gravestones in the adjoining churchyard boast the names of scores of Sandwich pioneers.
- Full wheelchair access
- Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
Contact info3305 Sandwich Street
ArchitectureYear built: 1819
Architectural style: Gothic revival
Building type: Cemetery, Place of worship
Dates/hours openSaturday September 22, 2018
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.