Built in 1848, this charming one-room schoolhouse is one of the oldest in Toronto. Established by Enoch Turner, a wealthy local brewer, it was the city’s first free school. Today, this historical schoolhouse is owned by the Ontario Heritage Trust and operated as a provincially significant heritage site, public museum, and conference and special events venue.
- Partial wheelchair access
- Self-guided tours available
- Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
- Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust
Contact info106 Trinity Street
ArchitectureYear built: 1848
Building type: Museum, Schoolhouse
Dates/hours openSaturday May 25, 2019
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.