This unique site features two heritage buildings – Lanark County’s first town hall and the old Central School – that were joined together in 1984 by a post-modern arch, creating a grand public entrance to the new municipal offices. Both buildings were designated in 1977. Today, the old schoolhouse is the site of a new Welcome Centre, which opened in August 2018.
- Partial wheelchair access
- Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
Contact info77 Beckwith Street North
Smiths Falls, Ontario
ArchitectureYear built: 1859; 1871
Architect: Ezekiel Shipman (town hall); Richard Locke (school)
Architectural style: Neoclassical
Dates/hours openSaturday September 14, 2019
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.