The Church of the Ascension is the second-oldest Anglican church in downtown Hamilton and was built in picturesque Gothic style. It was expanded after a destructive 1887 fire. The Holy Spirit Chapel was added in 1955. Recently, there was a major renovation of the interior. Come and hear the Royal Canadian College of Organists as they provide a live Bach-a-thon.
- Full wheelchair access
- Guided tours available
- Self-guided tours available
Contact info64 Forest Avenue (at John Street South); accessible entrance at 258 John Street South
ArchitectureYear built: 1850-51 (church); 1888 (reconstruction and chancel extension); 2012 (sanctuary renovations); 1955 (Chapel of the Holy Spirit)
Architect: Frederick Cumberland (1850-51); Darling and Currie (1888); John van Nostrand (2012); Charles Lenz (1955)
Architectural style: Gothic revival
Building type: Place of worship
Dates/hours openSaturday May 4 – Sunday May 5, 2019
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 12:30 to 4 p.m.