The township of Minden Hills, with a population of approximately 6,000 permanent residents, is more commonly referred to as Minden, after its largest village.
The village of Minden was first surveyed in 1858. It was originally named Gull River – the name also given to the lovely, meandering body of water that runs through the village. In 1860, the village was renamed Minden, after a town in Germany.
In Minden’s early years, the main resource was lumber. But since the 1940s, the town has become an increasingly popular summer destination due to its close proximity to larger cities in southern Ontario and the many lakes of varying sizes that are all within a short drive of Minden.
Join us during Doors Open Minden Hills to experience what this tranquil township has to offer!