Ontario Heritage Trust / Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien
Search

  • General information

September 20, 2014

More site listings to come!

Our 12th annual Doors Open event will feature dozens of sites – big and small, new and old – in and around Waterloo Region. Plenty of first-time sites are included every year.

Find our local map/guide this summer on our website, at Waterloo Region libraries, visitor centres and museums, and in the Waterloo Region Record on September 13.

Updates can always be found on Facebook (www.facebook.com/pages/Doors-Open-Waterloo-Region/82880538162). And you can always follow us on Twitter (@DoorsOpenWR).

Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Bean-Wright House (Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
73 George Street
Waterloo, Ontario
Year built: 1882
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Theodore Bellinger built this fine Italianate home 132 years ago. Its commanding position high above the street shows off its heavy-bracketed eaves, four-panel main entrance transom and large windows with graceful arches. The current owners of the house have restored many original interior and exterior features, and now operate it as Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Cambridge Historic City Hall and Cambridge City Hall

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
46-50 Dickson Street
Cambridge, Ontario
Year built: 1857; 2008
Architect: H.B. Sinclair; Diamond and Schmitt Architects
Building type: Green building
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
The impressive historic and new city hall buildings are joined by a glass link. Renovations to the 1857 building updated the council chambers, added a ground floor entrance, reinstated the second-floor main entrance stairs and installed an elevator. The award-winning 2008 building is gold-certified by the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design program.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
First World War

Col. J.A. McIntosh, DSO, ED Armoury

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1 Valour Place
Cambridge, Ontario
Year built: 1914
Architect: Chief Architect's Branch (David Ewart), Department of Public Works
Building type: Military
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Home of the Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada, the interior of this remarkable recognized federal heritage building is among the best-preserved in the region. It includes original ceiling beams, panelling, mouldings, baseboards, picture rails, doors, leaded-glass transoms, built-in cabinetry, flooring and a large drill hall. Its museum preserves the strong military heritage of Waterloo Region with regimental displays.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

K-W Masonic Temple

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
440 Weber Street North
Waterloo, Ontario
Year built: 1972
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3:45 p.m.
The K-W Masonic Temple was built in 1972 for the use of Freemasons, Royal Arch Masons, Scottish-Rite Masons, Knights Templar and Eastern Star. Discover how Masonry has been involved in the life of this community for 150 years. See historical furnishings and symbols in the lodge rooms, browse heritage displays, and enjoy family activities, music and food.
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

McDougall Cottage

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
89 Grand Avenue South
Cambridge, Ontario
Year built: c. 1858
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
McDougall Cottage, in the historical Cambridge factory district, is a vernacular matched grey granite and local limestone cottage with spectacular hand-painted friezes, trompe l’œil ceilings and a charming garden. An interpretive centre for Scottish culture, McDougall Cottage presents lectures and workshops, kitchen ceilidhs, Tartan Teas, Scotch tastings and more. Paintings of the Grand River will also be on show.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Nauman's Farm

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
3250 Hessen Strasse
Wellesley Township, Ontario
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Welcome to Nauman’s Farm, where strawberries, raspberries, rhubarb and pumpkins are grown. Nauman’s offers both pre-picked and pick-your-own produce. Choose one of the guided tours – 10 a.m., Noon or 2 p.m. – and learn about the “ins and outs” of growing fresh, local produce in Waterloo Region.
Parking
Guided tours available

St. John Evangelical Lutheran Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
4260 Hessen Strasse
Wellesley Township, Ontario
Year built: 1872
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
In 2012, this remarkable little building celebrates 140 years of active service. Members of the small but thriving congregation, founded in 1852, collected fieldstones and built this picturesque church on a hill overlooking miles of Wellesley Township farmland. Church services are still held four times per year. The building retains much of its original interior and exterior detail.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Sun Life Financial

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
227 King Street South
Waterloo, Ontario
Year built: 1912; 1921
Architect: Darling & Pearson; Sharpe & Horner
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
The Modern Renaissance style interior of Sun Life Financial – one of Waterloo's best-preserved heritage interiors – features inlaid marble, an elegant great hall with an ornate plaster ceiling, and many other original details. The heritage designation of the 1912 and 1921 façades reflects their importance in the streetscape of Waterloo. Guided tours through the building’s historical sections will be offered.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

University of Waterloo School of Architecture in Cambridge (former Riverside Silk Mill)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
7 Melville Street South
Cambridge, Ontario
Year built: 1919-38; renovated 2004
Architect: Levitt Goodman Architects, Toronto (2004 renovation)
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
The last industrial plant built on the Grand River in Galt, Riverside Silk Mill had large open spaces flooded with natural light. Its industrial atmosphere, spacious interior and spectacular town and river views were preserved and enhanced in its School of Architecture transformation. The on-site Cambridge Galleries Design at Riverside exhibit Ex Industria will examine the region’s industrial architecture.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

University of Waterloo School of Pharmacy

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
10A Victoria Street South
Kitchener, Ontario
Year built: 2009
Architect: Siamak Hariri, Hariri Pontarini Architects, Toronto
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Distinctive for its colourful curtain wall featuring images of medicinal plants, the School of Pharmacy represents a unique investment in downtown renewal. The building optimizes natural light and uses organic materials such as wood and stone to create a welcoming environment for students, staff and the community. A 2011 Ontario Association of Architects Design Excellence Award winner.
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Waterloo County Gaol and Governor's House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
77 Queen Street North
Kitchener, Ontario
Year built: 1852-53 (gaol); 1878 (Governor's House)
Architect: Mellish & Russell, Brantford (gaol); D.W. Gingerich, Waterloo (Governor's House)
Building type: Courthouse
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; guided tours only (approximately 1 hour each)
Both of these buildings – the oldest Waterloo County structures in existence – were saved from an uncertain fate by community action. The exteriors are designated and the interiors are excellent examples of adaptive reuse. The stone gaol houses provincial courtrooms. The brick Victorian Governor’s House is used for court offices and public meetings.