Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 30, 2017

Doors Open returns to Timmins in celebration of Canada 150!

Explore the spectacular history of the McIntyre Arena, home to many National Hockey League players, or hear the story of the ghost who lives in the Airport Hotel. From gold mines to grave yards, Doors Open Timmins will give residents and visitors a chance to see inside some of the most iconic sites of the city.

Come and discover the hidden treasures of the Porcupine gold fields!

In the early 1900s, prospectors followed rumours of gold into the Porcupine region and, by 1910, the Great Porcupine Gold Rush was on, creating one of Canada’s largest and most successful gold mining camps.

Jack Wilson led a group and discovered the Dome property, which would become the Dome Mine. Benny Hollinger and Alex Gillies discovered the claim that was developed into the Hollinger Gold Mine. Sandy McIntyre and Hans Buttner arrived shortly after the Hollinger-Gillies team and staked their claims immediately to the north of the Hollinger Mine, which eventually became the nucleus of the McIntyre Mine.

The towns of South Porcupine, Timmins and Schumacher were planned around each of these mines in order to house the miners and their families, and soon supported a thriving multicultural community. These three towns were amalgamated in 1973 into what is today the City of Timmins.

If you are interested in volunteering during Doors Open Timmins, contact the Timmins Museum: National Exhibition Centre:

Telephone: 705-360-2617
Email: museum@timmins.ca
Street address: 325 Second Avenue, Timmins

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Airport Hotel

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
151 Bruce Avenue
South Porcupine, Ontario
Telephone: 705-235-3332
Year built: 1940
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Perched on Porcupine Lake, the Airport Hotel – erected in 1940 – originally served as headquarters for the Porcupine Flying Club. It features a club room, lounge, lecture room, dining room and seven bedrooms. Tours of the upstairs rooms will occur throughout the day. Be sure to check in at the Shady Lady Lounge downstairs.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Guided tours available

Deadman's Point, Whitney Cemetery

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Haileybury Crescent
Porcupine, Ontario
Telephone: 705-360-2600, ext. 6245
Year built: 1911
Building type: Cemetery
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

The Great Porcupine Fire of 1911 destroyed the mining camps in the region. Many individuals perished, but afterwards most people chose to stay and rebuild their communities. Victims of the fire were buried at Deadman's Point. Today, the Whitney cemetery is still in service. View the monument to the victims of the fire as well as the Weiss family crypt.

Parking
Washrooms
French services available
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Hollinger House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
325 Second Avenue (Timmins Museum: National Exhibition Centre)
Timmins, Ontario
Telephone: 705-360-2617
Year built: 1919
Architect: Hill-Clark-Francis
Building type: Attraction, Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

In 1919, the mining industry was booming, Timmins was growing and housing was a problem, so the Hollinger Mine built housing for its employees. The 350 iconic Hollinger Houses, sporting their red and green tarpaper, are an important part of local history. Visit the house at the Timmins Museum to explore what life was like back in the 1930s.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

McIntyre Arena and Community Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
85 McIntyre Road
Schumacher, Ontario
Telephone: 705-360-2600, ext. 5820
Year built: 1938
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

This arena has been an important part of the town of Schumacher since 1938. Home rink to many National Hockey League players – including Bill Barilko and Frank Mahovolich – the "Mac" was also home to the Schumacher Summer Skating School. Many North American champions trained there, including Barbara Ann Scott. Also, while here, visit the Sports Hall of Fame.

Guided tours available

St. Matthew's Anglican Cathedral

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
331 Fifth Avenue
Timmins, Ontario
Telephone: 705-264-0914
Year built: 1913
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; special tours of the windows at Noon and 2 p.m. (subject to change)

St. Matthew’s Anglican Cathedral stands as a landmark on the city of Timmins’ skyline. An original small mission church was completed in 1913, and was enlarged and expanded during numerous phases of development. The cathedral features a beautiful collection of stained-glass windows, including one of the original nave windows.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Timmins Fire Hall

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
133 Cedar Street South
Timmins, Ontario
Telephone: 705-360-2681
Year built: 1957
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Since the Great Porcupine Fire of 1911, Porcupine has been well served by firefighters. In the over 100-year history of the department, fire-fighting techniques have changed dramatically. Members of the Fire Department will give visitors an overview of the history of their profession – and they may even let you sit in the truck!

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Self-guided tours available

Timmins Memorial Cemetery

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1011 Pine Street South, Concession 1 Lot 12
Timmins, Ontario
Telephone: 705-360-2600, ext. 6245
Year built: 1917
Building type: Cemetery
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

This cemetery has been in operation since 1917 when Father Theriault relocated the 72 graves from his churchyard to Pine Street. Non-Catholics were also buried on the site. Points of interest include the Hollinger Mine Disaster monument, Bill Barilko's grave and beautiful crypts. Cemetery etiquette is strictly enforced. The children's section of the cemetery is open to the public.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
Kid-friendly

Timmins Museum National Exhibition Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
325 Second Avenue
Timmins, Ontario
Telephone: 705-360-2617
Year built: 2001
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Explore the museum's collections with a visit behind the scenes. Discover the Porcupine Gold Rush through exhibits and historical films, which will be featured during the day. The Red Gallery will house an exhibition by Michael Glover that looks at the varied landscapes of northern Ontario. A new artist studio will also be open for inspection.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
Kid-friendly

Timmins Public Library

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
320 Second Avenue
Timmins, Ontario
Telephone: 705-360-2623
Year built: 2005
Architect: Ano Architects/Architectes Inc.
Building type: Library
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

One of the community’s newest buildings, the Timmins Public Library, is an architectural gem. The high ceilings and huge wooden columns and beams make this building a haven for book-lovers and information-seekers. Special children’s programming will be held during the Doors Open event.