Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 30, 2017

The Stonetown is an apt moniker for St. Marys, as it is filled with architecture featuring locally quarried limestone.

These stone buildings reveal much about the town’s history and development.

We invite you to explore the buildings of St. Marys during Doors Open 2017.  Visit the information tent on Queen Street in front of the Town Hall to pick up your local event map, community information or to have your questions answered.

Linger a little longer in St. Marys!

St. Marys is located 45 minutes northeast of London and 90 minutes west of Toronto. From Stratford, travel southwest on Highway 7 to Wildwood Conservation Area and take the Perth Line 9 exit to Queen Street.

From stunning architecture to picturesque vistas, St. Marys has a special character all of its own. Explore our historically rich community with its distinctive 19th- and 20th-century landscapes, buildings and streetscapes and lose yourself in the heritage of this small town.

If you'd like to volunteer with Doors Open St. Marys 2015, contact us at museum@town.stmarys.on.ca.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame & Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
386 Church Street South
St. Marys, Ontario
Telephone: 1-877-250-BALL (2255)
Year built: 1860s
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Located in an 1860s limestone house, the museum is situated on 13 picturesque hectares (32 acres) overlooking the locally famous quarry swimming hole. The site includes a major-league-style baseball diamond, two children’s fields and picturesque walking trails. The museum showcases artifacts and memorabilia, and pays tribute to baseball’s impressive Canadian roots and the accomplishments of Hall of Fame inductees.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms

First Baptist Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
34 Church Street South
St. Marys , Ontario
Telephone: 519-284-1758
Year built: 1904
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Visitors to this lovely building, on the corner of “church” street, will be impressed by the vaulted ceilings, beautiful hewn beams and stained-glass windows – unusual in a Baptist church. The cornerstone of the current building was laid on June 26, 1902; the first service was held on December 21 that year.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms

Holy Name of Mary Roman Catholic Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
149 King Street North
St. Marys, Ontario
Telephone: 519-284-2593
Year built: 1893
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This beautiful church, built from St. Marys limestone in 1893, replaced a much smaller stone church on the same spacious grounds. Its magnificent 69-foot central tower is topped by a 61-foot steeple. The parish recently completed an ambitious project to restore the tile roofing.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

St. James Anglican Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
65 Church Street South
St. Marys, Ontario
Telephone: 519-284-1147
Year built: 1858
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Visitors are always welcome at this historical church, set on spacious grounds near the heart of downtown St. Marys. Dating from 1858, the original modest stone building has been enhanced through the years with the addition of a tower, an adjoining parish hall and beautiful, commemorative windows.

Parking
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

St. Marys Junction Station

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
480 Glass Street
St. Marys, Ontario
Telephone: 519-284-3556
Year built: 1858
Building type: Transportation
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

This station, built by the Grand Trunk Railway in 1858, served the community for almost a century. A teenaged Thomas Edison may have worked here as a night telegraph operator from 1863-64. The station, now owned by the Town of St. Marys, is opened to visitors on special occasions – such as Doors Open.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms

St. Marys Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
177 Church Street South
St. Marys, Ontario
Telephone: 519-284-3556
Year built: 1854
Architect: Robert Barbour
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

When George Tracy – one of St. Marys' earliest settlers – built this house for his family in 1854, it was the largest residence in the area. The neighbourhood park surrounding the building today is what remains of the extensive grounds of this Castle in the Bush. A fine example of domestic limestone construction, it has been a museum since 1959.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms

St. Marys Presbyterian Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
147 Widder Street East
St. Marys, Ontario
Telephone: 519-284-2620
Year built: 1880-81
Style: Gothic revival
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built in 1880-81 of St. Marys limestone, St. Marys Presbyterian Church replaced a more modest frame structure that had been on this same site since 1852. The interior of the church was renovated in the mid-1960s, when two local Presbyterian congregations united and this building was selected as their place of worship.

Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

St. Marys Town Hall

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
175 Queen Street East
St. Marys, Ontario
Telephone: 519-284-2340
Year built: 1892
Architect: G.W. Gouinlock
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Town Hall is a replacement for an earlier municipal building that was destroyed by fire in 1890. The Town Hall building was designed by Toronto architect G.W. Gouinlock and built in 1892 using St. Marys limestone, with contrasting sandstone accents. Still the administrative centre of the town, the building contains council chambers, municipal offices and a public gallery.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

St. Marys Train Station

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
5 James Street North
St. Marys, Ontario
Telephone: 1-800-769-7668
Year built: 1907
Architect: E. Chandler, Stratford
Building type: Transportation
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Constructed in 1907 for the Grand Trunk Railway, this station was purchased by the town and refurbished in 1988. It still functions today as a VIA Rail station, but is also home to the St. Marys Station Gallery, which gives exposure to a variety of artists who reflect the cultural diversity, history, talent and character of the community.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

St. Marys United Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
85 Church Street South
St. Marys, Ontario
Year built: 1879
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

St. Marys United Church, built with white Ontario brick, replaced a smaller limestone Methodist Church. Its tower once supported a steeple that was damaged by lightning in the 1940s and removed. The interior is a spacious and inspiring place of worship. The church organ is one of the finest in the area.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Westover Inn

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
300 Thomas Street
St. Marys, Ontario
Telephone: 1-800-268-8243
Year built: 1867
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Constructed in 1867 of local limestone, this charming Victorian mansion was purchased by the Roman Catholic church for use as a seminary in the 1930s. After considerable evolution, it began welcoming visitors as the Westover Inn in 1987. The inn’s distinctive buildings include the Manor, the Cottage and the Terrace.