Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

October 01, 2016 - October 02, 2016

The City of Orillia is pleased to announce that Doors Open Orillia and Area will be combined with Culture Days 2016 this year.

Join us for a celebration of local culture and heritage!

As old as Canada itself, Orillia boasts a rich history and diverse cultural community. Incorporated in 1867, the city offers several heritage sites and landmarks that will be open to the public this year during Doors Open Orillia and Area.

A new addition to this year's festivities include the merging of Doors Open with Culture Days – a national initiative aimed at promoting participation in the arts. Visitors will not only experience an insider’s look at some of our heritage sites, but will also be able to take part in a number of exciting activities over the course of the weekend.

Visit www.orillia.ca/dooculture for more information.

To become a volunteer or register your site and/or activity, contact Haleigh Fox, Cultural Event Coordinator, at hfox@Orillia.ca.

Parking
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Champlain Sailing Club

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
145 Cedar Island Road
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-330-6570
Year built: Early 1950s
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Since 1844, sailors have enjoyed the waters of Lake Couchiching for recreation and competition. The first club was chartered in 1870, but it was not called the Champlain Sailing Club until around 1912. Visit the club’s 1950s-era airplane hangar and see the Orillia Heritage Centre’s century-old sailing canoe, Leacock’s sailboat mast, a historical slideshow and more!
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Trails

Grant's Woods Conservation Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1485 Division Road West
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-1620
Landscape type: Conservation area
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The Couchiching Conservancy is a non-profit land trust that helps to protect thousands of hectares of land in the area. One of the properties is Grant's Woods, just outside of Orillia. This property has public trails for walking, snowshoeing and nature appreciation. Ambassadors will be available to share information about the trails and the work of the Conservancy.
Parking
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Leacock Museum National Historic Site

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
50 Museum Drive
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-329-1908
Year built: 1928
Architect: Kenneth Noxon
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Historic landmark, Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This summer home of Canadian humorist Stephen Leacock is near the shore of Lake Couchiching. Guests are welcome to wander through the home and grounds, and have lunch in the Leacock Café (for purchase).
Partial wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Manticore Books

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
103 Mississaga Street East
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-7776
Year built: 1870
Architect: Athenias King
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.; Sunday: 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
This two-storey building stands at the centre of what is known as the King Block. Constructed by Athenias King circa 1870, the building received historical designation in 1992. The fine brick façade dominates Orillia’s historical downtown commercial district.
Parking
Guided tours available

Mariposa Arts Theatre Foundation

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
12 Brammer Drive
Orillia, Ontario
Building type: Theatre
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
This is community theatre at its best! The Mariposa Arts Theatre Foundation – a not-for-profit foundation that presents quality theatre to the greater Orillia area – opens its doors and provides hands-on experiences and demonstrations of what goes into making a theatre production. Learn about set design and construction, lighting and stage direction, while getting a tour of the theatre itself.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly

Orillia Farmers' Market

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Market Square, 36 Mississaga Street West
Orillia, Ontario
Building type: Attraction, Commercial, Historic landmark, Food and drink
Saturday only: 7 a.m. to Noon
The Orillia Farmers’ Market predates the establishment of Orillia as a village in 1867 and is one of the longest running in Ontario. In its early days, the market enjoyed a busy trade in hay, firewood and livestock, as well as farm-fresh produce, baked goods and handicrafts, products still available to market visitors. Stop by for some local fare!
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Orillia Heritage District Walking Tour

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Meet at 30 Peter Street South (Sir Sam Steele Memorial Building/Orillia Museum of Art & History)
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-325-3261
Building type: Attraction, Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Explore Orillia's unique and historical downtown heritage conservation district with a self-guided walking tour. Featured sites include Franklin Carmichael House (home of the iconic Group of Seven painter) and the former Tudhope Factory (now Orillia City Hall) – once the largest carriage factory in Canada. Copies of the walking tour brochure will be available at all Doors Open sites.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Orillia Museum of Art & History (Sir Sam Steele Memorial Building)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
30 Peter Street South
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-2159
Year built: 1894
Architect: Thomas Fuller
Style: Neoclassical
Building type: Attraction, Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The Orillia Museum of Art & History is housed in the landmark Sir Sam Steele Memorial Building, which was originally a customs house and post office, built between 1892 and 1894. The museum is a hub of culture and heritage, with 12,000 artifacts in their collection – ranging from artwork and textiles to metal and woodwork.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Orillia Opera House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
20 Mississaga Street West
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-8011
Year built: 1895; reconstructed after 1915 fire
Architect: Burke, Horwood and White
Style: Gothic revival
Building type: Attraction, Theatre
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Since it opened in 1895, the Orillia Opera House has been a focal point for the cultural life of the city. With its unique Victorian architecture – including two soaring towers – it remains easily recognized from across town. The Opera House continues to attract big-name performers and professional productions. During the year, it also attracts local community events and activities.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Orillia Public Library

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
36 Mississaga Street West
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-325-2338, ext. 211
Year built: 2012
Architect: Acuqicon
Building type: Library, Green building
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Come to the library’s family history festival, where you can speak to 12 experts about various genealogy topics. They will share new information on discovering your past. Take a self-guided art tour. Bring the kids and participate in some great programs specially designed for them.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Regan House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Scout Valley, 267 Line 15 North
Oro Medonte Township, Ontario
Telephone: 705-325-4530
Year built: 1832
Sunday only: Noon to 4 p.m.
Nestled in Scout Valley, this 1832 log home is thought to be Orillia’s oldest remaining settler’s house. Patrick Regan bought the house in 1845, and it remained in the family until 1911. Dismantled in 2006, it was re-raised in its present location in spring 2010. Stay tuned for more details on the special event occurring here during Doors Open.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available

St. Andrew's-St. James' Cemetery

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
320 Coldwater Road (at Westmount Drive North)
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-6021
Year built: Established 1873
Building type: Cemetery
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
St. Andrews’-St.James’ Cemetery is one of the oldest burial sites in town. With mature trees and some intricately carved stones, the place offers a peaceful opportunity to explore. Booklets indicating the grave locations of several notable Orillians will be available. Office staff will also provide maps of the cemetery for genealogy buffs looking for specific graves.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

St. James' Anglican Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
58 Peter Street North
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-325-2742
Year built: 1891; rebuilt after 1905 fire
Architect: W.H. Croker
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 12:30 to 4 p.m.
Chief Yellowhead (born in 1789, and served with the British during the War of 1812) donated the site for this church in 1841. The current church replaced the first stone one, built in 1891, after it was destroyed by fire in 1905. Author and humorist Stephen Leacock was baptized here.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly

St. Paul's Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
62 Peter Street North
Orillia, Ontario
Building type: Attraction, Place of worship, Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Visit the St. Paul's Centre during the Inside Out Community Festival (food, activities and culture), and celebrate with them as they mark 185 years in Orillia. The centre seeks to be at the heart of Orillia. By becoming a multi-partner, multi-use building, they have expanded community use while preserving their values of inclusiveness and community engagement.