Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 30, 2017

Join the celebration as Orillia turns 150 alongside both the province and nation!

To mark this milestone, the City of Orillia has partnered with its surrounding townships to honour the history and to showcase the many historical and heritage sites found throughout the region.

Please view the following participating sites for information and times.

The City of Orillia is a city of 31,000 people in the heart of Ontario’s Lake Country on the shores of Lake Couchiching and Lake Simcoe.

Founded in 1867, the City of Orillia is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year – alongside the province and the nation. A year-long celebration is underway in Orillia, and visitors are encouraged to participate in our series of 150 events.
  • Participating Doors Open Sites can be found in Orillia, Oro-Medonte, Severn and Rama. Please continue to visit this website for updates.
  • Doors Open Orillia and Area | Culture Days 2017 itineraries and listings can be found at www.orillia.ca/dooculture, while information on Orillia150 can be found at www.orillia.ca/150.

To become a volunteer, or to participate in this event, contact hfox@orillia.ca with "DOO volunteer” in the subject line.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

1923 LaFrance Fire Truck

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
20 Mississaga Street West
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-325-5201
Saturday: 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Orillia's first gas-operated 1923 American LaFrance chemical and ladder fire truck, which replaced horse-drawn equipment, operated for 30 years. Today, it is owned by the Orillia Heritage Centre in partnership with the fire department. This rare vehicle, along with historical photographs, will be on display outside the Orillia Opera House, next to the Downtown Farmers' Market.

Parking
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Bandstand, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
140 Canice Street (Couchiching Beach Park)
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-325-2011
Building type: Attraction, Theatre
Saturday: TBC

In the 1800s, it was common to gather at Civic Park (now Couchiching Beach Park) and listen to the Orillia Citizens’ Band, now known as the Kiltie Band. In 1909, Town Council approved the construction of a bandstand suitable for musical performances. This historical structure can be rented for weddings and wedding photographs, as well as other events.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Trails

Grant's Woods Conservation Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1485 Division Road West
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-1620
Landscape type: Conservation area
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

The Couchiching Conservancy is a non-profit land trust that helps to protect thousands of hectares of land in the area. One of the conservancy’s properties is Grant's Woods, just outside of Orillia, which has public trails for walking, snowshoeing and nature appreciation. Ambassadors will be available to share information about the trails and the work of the conservancy.

Parking
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Leacock Museum National Historic Site

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
50 Museum Drive
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-329-1908
Year built: 1928
Architect: Kenneth Noxon
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Historic landmark, Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

This summer home of Canadian humorist Stephen Leacock is near the shore of Lake Couchiching. Guests are welcome to wander through the home and grounds, and have lunch in the Leacock Café (food and drinks available for purchase).

Partial wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Manticore Books

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
103 Mississaga Street East
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-7776
Year built: 1870
Architect: Athenias King
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

This two-storey building stands at the centre of what is known as the King Block. Constructed by Athenias King circa 1870, the building received historical designation in 1992. The fine brick façade dominates Orillia’s historical downtown commercial district.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly

Orillia Farmers' Market

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Market Square, 36 Mississaga Street West
Orillia, Ontario
Building type: Attraction, Commercial, Food and drink
Saturday: 7 a.m. to Noon

The Orillia Farmers’ Market predates the establishment of Orillia as a village in 1867, and is one of the longest running in Ontario. In its early days, the market enjoyed a busy trade in hay, firewood and livestock, as well as farm-fresh produce, baked goods and handicrafts – products still available to market visitors today. Stop by for some local fare!

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Orillia Heritage District Walking Tour

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Start at 36 Mississaga Street West (Orillia Public Library)
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-325-3261
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Explore Orillia's unique, historical downtown through these revamped, self-guided tours. Be sure to pick up a pamphlet at the Orillia Public Library and enjoy the rich heritage, unique architecture and beautiful shops in town, many of which are also participating sites for Doors Open Orillia and Area/Culture Days 2017.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Orillia Museum of Art & History (Sir Sam Steele Memorial Building)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
30 Peter Street South
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-2159
Year built: 1894
Architect: Thomas Fuller
Style: Neoclassical
Building type: Attraction, Museum
Saturday: TBC

The Orillia Museum of Art & History is housed in the landmark Sir Sam Steele Memorial Building, which was originally a customs house and post office, built between 1892 and 1894. The museum is a hub of culture and heritage, with 12,000 artifacts in their collection – ranging from artwork and textiles to metal and woodwork.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Orillia Opera House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
20 Mississaga Street West
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-8011
Year built: 1895; reconstructed after 1915 fire
Architect: Burke, Horwood and White
Style: Gothic revival
Building type: Attraction, Theatre
Saturday: TBC

Since it opened in 1895, the Orillia Opera House has been a focal point for the cultural life of the city. With its unique Victorian architecture – including two soaring towers – it remains easily recognized from across town. The Opera House continues to attract big-name performers and professional productions. During the year, it also attracts local community events and activities.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Orillia Public Library

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
36 Mississaga Street West
Orillia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-325-2338, ext. 211
Year built: 2012
Architect: Acuqicon
Building type: Library, Green building
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Spend some time at the library and enjoy their robust programming schedule during Doors Open – including how to: code with the Codemobile, write a song, program “Hobots,” do kindergarten readiness at home, do five-minute makeup, barbecue, spin wool, repair drywall, bird watch, garden in small spaces, quilt, repair your bicycle, and more!

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Oro African Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Corner of Line 3 North and Old Barrie Road West
Oro-Medonte, Ontario
Telephone: 705-487-2171
Year built: 1849
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Building type: Place of worship, Historic landmark
Saturday: TBC

The Oro African Methodist Episcopal Church, built 1846-49, is a designated National Historic Site. It is one of the oldest African log churches still standing in North America. This church stands as a testament to both the Black settlers who carefully maintained it for nearly 75 years and the passionate community volunteers who have worked diligently to preserve it.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Peter Street Arts District

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Peter Street, between Mississaga Street East and Colbourne Street East
Oriliia, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-2159
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

The Peter Street Arts District, in the heart of Orillia’s historical downtown, is a unique neighbourhood community featuring art and related businesses. Whether you are seeking a unique gift or a distinctive experience, this is the place to be. Enjoy the festive Doors Open atmosphere, artist demonstrations, interactive displays and music in the street!