Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

June 03, 2017 - June 04, 2017

We welcome you to hit the open road and explore the beautiful landscape and rich cultural heritage of Northumberland County!

Find 19th-century architecture, including pre-Confederation buildings and heritage homes nestled in unexpected and scenic locales. Experience Northumberland County's social, agricultural and horticultural history at our diverse cultural centres, farms and gardens, and delight in the road less travelled.

Join the celebration this 150th and make it a Northumberland County weekend!

Welcome to Northumberland – a thriving, southeastern Ontario community strategically positioned along Highway 401 to access both Toronto and Kingston within a 1- to 1.5-hour drive.

Northumberland County offers a range of living experiences from historical towns to scenic rolling rural areas to spectacular water settings on Rice Lake, the Trent River and Lake Ontario.

To find out where to eat, sleep and shop during your stay, visit Northumberland Tourism.

Coming soon!

Parking
Washrooms

Arts and Heritage Centre of Warkworth

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
35 Church Street
Warkworth, Ontario
Year built: 1922
Architect: W.H. Barry, Peterborough
Style: Arts and crafts
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This new centre aims to promote heritage awareness and excellence in the arts. The opening show, Art History – Stories of Art in These Parts, examines the development of art in this area, from geologic times to the present. The centre is in the Community Memorial Hall, a heritage-designated building constructed to commemorate local lives lost in the First World War.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Barnum House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
10568 County Road 2
Grafton, Ontario
Year built: 1819
Architect: Eliakim Barnum
Style: Neoclassical
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Eliakim Barnum emigrated from the United States in 1807. He built this house in 1819, and generations of the family lived in it until 1917. Enjoy a tour of this magnificent home, one of the finest examples of neoclassical architecture in Ontario, and now faithfully restored to how it would have been in the 1820-40 period.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Campbellford-Seymour Heritage Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
113 Front Street North
Campbellford, Ontario
Telephone: 705-653-2634
Year built: 1857
Architect: John Langman
Style: Vernacular
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This limestone building, the first public building in the area, has been used as a township hall, council chamber, courtroom, church, school, jail, community centre, market and public utilities office. Since then, it has housed the Campbellford-Seymour Heritage Society. Local artifacts, information about genealogical research, family records and mementos of Campbellford’s past will be on display for Doors Open.

Parking
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Canning Factory, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
130 Canning Factory Road
Grafton, Ontario
Year built: c. 1904
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This cannery opened around 1904, close to a new rail line. Operations ceased in about 1955, and the factory became derelict over the next 60 years. A remarkable renovation has blended the original with the modern to create a showroom for Vincent Sheppard's line of indoor and outdoor furniture.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly

Cobourg Public Library

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
200 Ontario Street
Cobourg, Ontario
Telephone: 905-372-9271
Year built: 1995
Architect: Moffatt Kinoshita Associates
Building type: Library
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 5 p.m.

This library is in the C. Gordon King Centre, which opened in 1995, and is more commonly known as the Cobourg Public Library. The 1,649-square-metre (17,750-square-foot) building houses the two-storey library, a large meeting room and the Northumberland County Archives.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Northumberland County Archives

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
200 Ontario Street
Cobourg, Ontario
Telephone: 905-372-0677
Building type: Museum
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Visitors are welcome to take a behind-the-scenes look at the archives’ storage and conservation facilities to learn about the important role that the archives play in preserving the county’s heritage. Historical documents and artifacts from the 18th to 21st centuries will be on display.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
Guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Proctor House Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
96 Young Street
Brighton, Ontario
Telephone: 613-475-2144
Year built: c. 1853
Landscape type: Conservation area
Style: Victorian
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Once a modest brick saltbox home erected in the 1850s by the Proctors, one of the first families to settle in the village of Brighton, this building had become a grand Victorian mansion by 1867. Situated on 40 hectares (100 acres) of parkland, it is a living museum reflecting the life and times of a prosperous Brighton family.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Roseneath Carousel

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
9109 County Road 45
Alnwick/Haldimand, Ontario
Year built: 1906
Architect: C.W. Parker
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Roseneath Carousel – built in Abilene, Kansas – has 40 basswood horses and two boats. A 1934 Wurlitzer Military Band Organ Model No. 125 provides the music. The Roseneath Agricultural Society purchased the carousel in 1932 for $675. Between 1986 and 1993, it was restored to its original condition (costing $400,000). Rides on the carousel will be free during Doors Open.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

St. George's Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
8661 Church Hill Road
Gores Landing, Ontario
Year built: 1909
Architect: Gerald Hayward/J.A. Ellis
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

St. George’s Church, constructed of local cobblestone, is the second Anglican church to be built on this hilltop site overlooking the village and Rice Lake. With its art nouveau stained-glass windows, buttressed and crenellated tower, and many other fine features by local artist Gerald Hayward, the church is considered to be one of the loveliest in Canada.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

St. John's United Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
50 Bridge Street West
Campbellford, Ontario
Telephone: 705-653-2283
Year built: 1865
Architect: William Dunk
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Constructed in 1865 as a Methodist church, St. John’s is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year. The interior of the brick structure has intricate wood detailing and beautiful stained-glass windows that renowned Canadian stained-glass artist Christopher Wallis created. The significance of the windows was recognized in 2014 when they were granted heritage designation.

Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Sifton-Cook Heritage Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
141 Orr Street
Cobourg, Ontario
Telephone: 905-373-7222
Year built: c. 1820
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Sifton-Cook Heritage Centre opened in 2012 in the restored old limestone building commonly known as "the barracks." Each year a particular aspect of the area's history is celebrated – the theme for 2015 is industry and commerce. An operating model railway outside tells the story of the Cobourg and Peterborough Railway and the ill-fated Rice Lake Bridge.