Search

  • General information
  • Community Information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 16, 2017 - September 17, 2017

During Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake, several sites of historical or architectural significance will be open to the public for free.

Come explore the heritage and architecture of this community, including some buildings rarely open to the public.

Visit www.notlcanada150.ca for more details.

History

Niagara-on-the-Lake has a long and distinguished history that has brought together Indigenous peoples, United Empire Loyalists fleeing the American Revolution, enslaved Blacks seeking their freedom and European settlers.

Unique charm

Niagara-on-the-Lake hosts millions of people each year from around the world who travel here to experience the town’s unique charm and historical sites, world-class theatre and outstanding natural beauty.

Community strength

Niagara-on-the-Lake welcomes and supports newcomers and long-time residents to get involved in an incredible diversity of worthy causes, committees and community projects. There is something for everyone here – whether one is interested in history, gardening, arts, music, theatre or viniculture.
 
Volunteers help to make Niagara-on-the-Lake a thriving and exciting place to live.

If you would like to volunteer for Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake, fill out the appropriate Volunteer Form.

Deadline for submissions: May 30, 2017.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms

Church Christ, McNab

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1294 McNab Road
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 905-684-0005
Year built: 1853
Architect: William Thomas
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Land for this church was donated by William Servos. Edward Hiscott and James Servos mortgaged their farms for the loans. The first service was Christmas Eve 1853 and was led by Reverend A. F. Atkinson. In the adjacent cemetery, there is a burial ground for Black slaves, who escaped from the United States and lived near Eight Mile Creek.

Washrooms
Guided tours available

Exchange Brewery, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
7 Queen Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 905-468-9888
Year built: 1880
Architect: Williamson Chong
Style: Art moderne
Building type: Commercial, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Built in 1880, this building was Niagara's first telephone exchange. In 2015, it was transformed into a brewery, but it retains some original features. Original hemlock floor joists became the second-floor bar and table tops. Some nods to the building's use as a telephone exchange include brewing numbers (instead of names) and a tasting board shaped like a rotary dial.

Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Grace United Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
222 Victoria Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 905-468-4044
Year built: 1852
Architect: W.M. Thomas
Style: Romanesque revival
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Steps away from Queen Street, with yew trees flanking the front entrance, this storied church has an interesting history. Built in 1852 for the Canada Presbyterian Church, it was vacated by 1874 and later purchased at auction by the local Methodist congregation. In 1925, the United Church of Canada was formed and local congregations merged to become Grace United Church.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
Trails

Landscape of Nations

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Queenston Heights
Queenston, Ontario
Year built: 2016
Architect: Tom Ridout and Raymond Syke
Landscape type: Landscape
Building type: Attraction, Military
Sunday only: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

This living memorial is dedicated to the contributions and sacrifices made by Six Nations and native allies at Queenston Heights and throughout the War of 1812. The memorial inspires citizens to learn about and acknowledge the critical role that native peoples played in defending this land and in allowing Canada to remain free.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Laura Secord Homestead

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
29 Queenston Heights
Queenston, Ontario
Telephone: 905-262-4851
Year built: 1803
Architect: Unknown
Style: Georgian
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark, Museum
Sunday only: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

During the War of 1812, a brave woman set out on a perilous journey in the service of her country and immediately stepped into history. Travel back in time to the lovingly restored home of Laura Secord. Be enchanted by stories of her adventures and of the surrounding area, as told by authentically costumed guides.

Parking
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Mackenzie Printery and Newspaper Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1 Queenston Heights
Queenston, Ontario
Telephone: 905-262-5676
Year built: Unknown; restored 1880
Style: Georgian
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark, Museum
Sunday only: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

This museum is the restored home of rebel printer William Lyon Mackenzie. Learn about 500 years of printing technology amid the authentic ambiance of a period print shop. See the rare Louis Roy Press, which is the oldest press in Canada and one of the few original wooden presses remaining in the world.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

McFarland House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
15927 Niagara Parkway
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 905-468-3322
Year built: 1800
Architect: John McFarland
Style: Georgian
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark, Museum
Sunday only: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

For more than two centuries, McFarland House has served as a monument to the impeccable manners, good taste and gracious living that epitomizes Niagara-on-the-Lake. Built in 1800, McFarland House is the oldest property owned by the Niagara Parks Commission.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Niagara Historical Society & Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
43 Castlereagh Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 905-468-3912
Year built: High school building (built 1806), Memorial Hall (built 1906) and Link Building (built 1971)
Architect: W.B. Allan
Style: Italianate
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark, Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The Niagara Historical Society & Museum was founded in 1895 to encourage the study of Canadian history and literature, to collect and preserve Canadian historical records and artifacts, and to build Canadian loyalty and patriotism. They continue to make Niagara’s heritage relevant and ensure that future generations will understand the perseverance, determination and innovation of those who came before them.

Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Guided tours available

Niagara Lodge No. 2

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
153 King Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 905-931-3135
Year built: 1816
Building type: Military, Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Descended from several local lodges – the first being at Fort Niagara in 1779 – this is the oldest Masonic lodge in Upper Canada. It has early links to colonial lodges in the Province of New York through John Butler. It was an 1816 barracks building, built from the rubble after the town was burned during the War of 1812.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Niagara Oast House Brewers

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
2017 Niagara Stone Road
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 289-868-9627
Year built: 1890
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Style: Prairie
Building type: Attraction, Commercial, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

This classic prairie-style barn was constructed in 1890 on the site of the Ball Farm (one of the first farms of Upper Canada). This building has housed a fruit basket manufacturer, the Niagara Township Fruit Cooperative, the Farmer's Co-op Bank (now Meridian Credit Union) and a John Deere dealership. The Niagara Oast House Brewers purchased the building in 2011.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Niagara Pumphouse Arts Centre, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
247 Ricardo Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 905-468-5455
Year built: 1891
Landscape type: Garden
Style: Victorian
Building type: Historic landmark, Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

This art gallery and studio is located in the old pumping station (circa 1891) that supplied water to the town of Niagara-on-the-Lake until 1983. The Pumphouse Art Centre Association was formed in 1990 and the building was restored and converted into a visual arts centre in 1994. The Pumphouse offers year-round educational programs, exhibitions and events that promote the arts.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Ravine Vineyard Estate and Winery

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1366 York Road
St. David's, Ontario
Telephone: 905-262-8463
Year built: 2008
Architect: Stevens Burgess Architects Ltd.
Landscape type: Garden
Style: Georgian
Building type: Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

This fifth-generation family farm is home to a winery, organic vineyards, award-winning culinary experiences, sprawling kitchen gardens, distinctive event venues and more. The Lowrey-Harber family have proudly farmed this land since 1867 and offer their guests an ever-changing fabric of tastes, sights and sounds at this beautiful, rolling vineyard in the historical village of St. David's.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

RiverBrink Art Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
116 Queenston Street
Queenston, Ontario
Telephone: 905-262-4510
Year built: 1950s
Architect: Arthur E. Nutter
Style: Georgian
Building type: Museum
Sunday only: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

RiverBrink houses approximately 1,400 works of art – including paintings, prints, drawings and sculptures. Exhibitions, installed year-round, come from the collection of Samuel E. Weir, and from public and private loans. An art library, decorative arts and impressive views of the Niagara River enhance the visitor experience. Summer 2017 exhibitions include Bonnie Devine: Treaty Robe, for Tecumseh and Canada at Confederation.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Shaw Festival, The (Festival Theatre)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
10 Queen's Parade
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 800-511-7424
Year built: 1973
Architect: Ron Thom
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Theatre
Saturday: 9 a.m. to Noon; Sunday: 9 a.m. to Noon

At 856 seats, the Festival Theatre is the Shaw Festival's largest venue. Built in the modernist style, the theatre was designed to provide a spacious yet intimate audience experience. Take a backstage tour where docents will relate stories about the current ensemble, as well as the history of the Festival and its importance to the Canadian theatre landscape.

Partial wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Shaw Festival, The (The Royal George)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
85 Queen Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Year built: 1915
Style: Classical revival
Building type: Theatre
Saturday: 9 a.m. to Noon; Sunday: 9 a.m. to Noon

The Royal George is a theatre in a turn-of-the-century vaudeville house. Constructed in 1915, vaudeville acts and silent movies shown at the theatre entertained the soldiers at Niagara Camp throughout the first half of the 20th century. The Shaw Festival acquired the building in 1980, renovated it and reopened it as The Royal George in June of that year.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Southbrook Vineyards

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
581 Niagara Stone Road
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Year built: 2008
Landscape type: Garden
Style: Prairie
Building type: Commercial, Green building, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Southbrook Vineyards is Canada's first certified organic and biodynamic winery. They specialize in complex, rich chardonnays and ripe, enduring reds made with classic Bordeaux varietals. Come and enjoy wine tasting with cheese and charcuterie, all while viewing the vineyards through the floor-to-ceiling windows of their LEED gold-certified pavilion.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
323 Simcoe Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 905-262-4780
Year built: 1855
Architect: Kivas Tully
Building type: Cemetery, Place of worship
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The original church was built here in 1794, but was burned by the occupying American army in 1813. A new church was built in 1831, but it was destroyed by a cyclone. In 1855, the current building was constructed. While major restorations occurred in 1937 and 1991, the interior and exterior appear much the same as the 1831 church.

Parking
Washrooms

St. David's Presbyterian Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1436 York Road
St. David's , Ontario
Year built: 1887
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Building type: Place of worship, Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

This church was built in 1887 with bricks from the large smokestack of James Counter Woodruff Sawmill. George Clement donated the land for this church.

Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

St. Mark's Church and Rectory

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
41 Byron Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Telephone: 905-468-3123
Year built: 1792
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Building type: Place of worship, Private residence
Saturday: 9 a.m. to Noon; Sunday: 3 to 5 p.m.

This collection of buildings sits in two pristine hectares (seven acres). The 18th-century church has been in continuous use longer than any other church in Ontario. A cemetery, still in use, records a burial from 1782. The 1886 Addison Hall houses parish functions and the impressive home of the rector is an unusual 1858 Tuscan rectory.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Willowbank

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
14487 Niagara Parkway
Queenston, Ontario
Telephone: 905-262-1239, ext. 200
Year built: 1834
Architect: John Latshaw
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Style: Neoclassical
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Willowbank is a neoclassical estate house (1834) situated in a picturesque landscape. As a private residence, the estate changed hands several times. The site has over 8,000 years of documented human use, as Indigenous people used the ravine as a portage route. The lower campus is the Laura Secord School, built in 1914 (extension built in the 1950s).