Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 16, 2017 - September 17, 2017

From historical lodges to tiny homes, generating stations to family farms, Doors Open Minden Hills provides visitors many opportunities to glimpse into our area's heritage.

The township of Minden Hills, with a population of approximately 6,000 permanent residents, is more commonly referred to as Minden, after its largest village.

The village of Minden was first surveyed in 1858. It was originally named Gull River – the name also given to the lovely, meandering body of water that runs through the village. In 1860, the village was renamed Minden, after a town in Germany.

In Minden’s early years, the main resource was lumber. But since the 1940s, the town has become an increasingly popular summer destination due to its close proximity to larger cities in southern Ontario and the many lakes of varying sizes that are all within a short drive of Minden.

Join us during Doors Open Minden Hills to experience what this tranquil township has to offer!

The success of Doors Open Minden Hills lies in the support and enthusiasm of volunteers who help with being guides, greeters, counters, sign crews and more!

Help us make this event a community success. For more information, contact Elisha at eweiss@mindenhills.ca.

Parking
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Booth Street Projects

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
3 Booth Street
Minden, Ontario
Year built: 2015
Building type: Attraction, Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Booth Street Projects is a sculpture studio owned and operated by Chris Hanson and Hendrika Sonnenberg. They host weekend exhibitions and events and produce limited-edition books. During Doors Open, they will host a group exhibition with local artists, including Michael Bainbridge, Mary Anne Barkhouse, Gary Blundell, Nadine Papp and Victoria Ward.

Parking
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Don Crowe's Dairy Memorabilia

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
12749 Highway 35
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-286-3135
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Don Crowe, the co-owner/operator of Minden Kawartha Dairy for the past 57 years, has collected everything from a 1931 stand-up-drive milk truck, rare milk bottles, porcelain and metal signs, a foot-operated milking machine, over 100 antique miniature model trucks, and more. Enjoy a rare opportunity to explore this unique collection!

Parking
Washrooms
Kid-friendly

Heather Lodge

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
14483 Highway 35
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-489-3257
Year built: c. 1942
Building type: Commercial
Sunday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

For over 70 years, Heather Lodge has opened its doors to the breathtaking view of Twelve Mile Lake in Haliburton Highlands. Believed to have been opened in 1942, the lodge was originally named The Ellen Cliff Lodge after the then-owner. Today, it is still thriving and embraces its long history as one of the first tourist accommodations in Haliburton County.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Killara Station

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
5205 Gelert Road
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-854-0055
Building type: Private residence
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Killara Station is a 88-hectare (215-acre) farm in the heart of Haliburton County. It is home to a variety of initiatives driven by the passions of its owners, Randy and Sue MacDonald. Tour the property and explore: Sue Mac Designs (felting, jewellery, wire sculpture, furniture and photography); Fresh (organic farm); Canadian Cobar Coolies (dog breeding); and Paws Dog Boarding.

Parking
Guided tours available

Minden Generating Station

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1870 Horseshoe Lake Road
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-326-7315
Year built: 1935
Style: Art deco
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Note: not normally open to the general public

The Minden Generating Station, on the Gull River, is owned and operated by the Orillia Power Generation Corporation. The increase in demand for electricity during the Depression prompted the construction of this station, by men working under the Unemployment Relief Work Act. This powerhouse has been generating reliable power since 1935, and is known for its distinctive art deco design.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Minden Hills Cultural Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
176 Bobcaygeon Road
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-286-2808
Building type: Museum, Green building
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Minden Hills Cultural Centre is comprised of the Agnes Jamieson Gallery, Minden Hills Museum & Heritage Village, and Nature’s Place. The centre offers year-round programming in arts, heritage and environment learning opportunities for all ages.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Miner's Bay Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
9718 Highway 35
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-286-2978
Year built: 1906
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Miners Bay Regular Baptist Church was built in 1906 by local craftsmen, with the assistance of a Baptist organization in Toronto. The one-room church held regular services until 1928. Now, summer services are offered under a long-standing agreement with the Wunker family and Miners’ Bay Lodge. Recently, the interior was restored using local hardwood and patterned metal.

Parking
Guided tours available

Neubacher Farm

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
3934 Gelert Road
Minden, Ontario
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Neubacher Farm features a three-bedroom farmhouse built in 1939 and a barn built in 1910 – both of which are set on a 40-hectare (100-acre) parcel of land. The barn and part of the house operates as an artist’s studio, and the land is also used to raise cattle. The owners hope to introduce a working garden in the coming years.

Parking
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Nickel's House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1063 Nichols Road
Minden, Ontario
Year built: 1881
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Known as the Nickels House, the original 40-hectare (100-acre) property was purchased in 1874 for $300. In 1918, Carl Nickel, a Finnish immigrant, purchased it and raised turkeys on the property. He also built a log sauna on the site – the remains of which can still be seen today. The property was owned by the Nickel family until the mid-1970s.

Parking
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Sunny Rock Bed and Breakfast

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1144 Scott's Dam Road
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-286-4922
Year built: 1928
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Take a tour of this Finnish-designed lodge – now a bed and breakfast – and learn about its fascinating history. The present owners, Sally and Jan, will tell stories about the six previous owners that the lodge has had – stories of tragedy, financial upset and the supernatural, as well as stories of some very happy times.

Parking
Guided tours available

Tiny Home

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1043 MacIntosh Lane
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-457-6923
Building type: Attraction, Green building
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This 33-square-metre (108-square-foot) tiny house was based on a bunkie from Cottage Life magazine and Tiny House designs. The double dormers give the house a roomy feeling, with plenty of space to sleep three. The house is designed to be totally self-sufficient, with a small wood-burning stove for winter use and enough space to accommodate all home amenities.

Parking
Guided tours available

Venture Inn (Lake House)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1332 Claude Brown Road
Minden, Ontario
Year built: c. 1930
Style: Log structure
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This private home – once the Venture Inn – was constructed from two barns that were disassembled and then reassembled on the shore of Bob Lake. The inn operated as a hunting/fishing lodge and holiday retreat. The original owners also provided parking and boat storage for the boat-access-only cottages. The business flourished from the 1930s until the late 1960s.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Whippoorwill Farm

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1425 Francis Road
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-286-2950
Year built: original cabin (1879)
Building type: Attraction, Private residence
Sunday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Whippoorwill Farm operates as a hobby farm – with herbs, vegetables, blueberries, heritage apples, grain and some livestock. A bee and butterfly-friendly wildflower meadow has also been established and many eastern bluebirds nest near the house. During Doors Open, the current owners will also provide history about the pioneer family that established the farm, including photographs from the property’s early years.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Xerri Passive House Home

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
9 Highland Gate Blvd.
Minden, Ontario
Telephone: 705-286-0019
Year built: 2016-17
Building type: Attraction, Private residence, Green building
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

A house with no heating system?! The Xerri Passive House Home is designed to meet the international Passive House standard for energy efficiency, air quality and comfort. This 488-square-metre (1,600-square-foot), solar-ready home costs less than $100 per year to heat or cool and does not require a heating system. The homeowners will be available to answer questions.