Ontario Heritage Trust / Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien
Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 13, 2014 - September 14, 2014

For those of us who call Middlesex County home, we realize how lucky we are to live in communities so rich in cultural heritage. But we never forget the sacrifices made by those who came before us to guarantee the ideals that we love so much about our communities.

The fourth Doors Open Middlesex, presented by Tourism Middlesex, returns this year to recognize the centenary of the start of the First World War. Come and explore significant sites and figures in Canada’s military history on the west side of the county.

 
We are pleased to share some of this heritage with you and to honour those who gave the greatest gift to secure our freedom.

Middlesex County comprises the municipalities of North Middlesex, Adelaide Metcalfe, Lucan Biddulph, Middlesex Centre, Thames Centre, Southwest Middlesex, Strathroy-Caradoc and the Village of Newbury.

These municipalities boast beautiful natural landscapes and scenery, architecturally unique homes and buildings, revitalized heritage and historical and vibrant downtowns that bring back memories of the past. Our conservation areas, bed and breakfasts, restaurants, arts and cultural events and spaces, contemporary entertainment venues, ecotourism, agritourism and premier golf courses will keep you coming to Middlesex!

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer for this event, please contact Becky Tannahill at 519-205-4952 or becky@tourmiddlesex.ca.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
First World War

Caradoc Community Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
565 Lions Park Drive
Mount Brydges, Ontario
Building type: Attraction, Military
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This centre offers facilities for wedding receptions, dances, special events and other community activities. It features a banquet hall, a fully equipped kitchen and a bar. For Doors Open, the memorial wall inside showcases Private Russell Corcoran, a local Strathroy-Caradoc soldier who fought in the First World War with the Canadian Mounted Rifles, but died in France.

Clock Tower Inn, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
71 Frank Street
Strathroy, Ontario
Telephone: 519-245-5656
Year built: 1889
Architect: Thomas Fuller
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Built in 1889, this former post office and customs house, now an inn, was designed by Thomas Fuller, the architect for the Parliament Buildings in Ottawa. Among the architectural features are a two-and-a-half storey mansard roof and pyramid-roofed clock tower, high central gables with dormers, arched entrances and a distinctive bell tower.
Parking
First World War

First Baptist Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
20 Centre Street West
Strathroy, Ontario
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
For over 150 years, this church congregation has thrived. While much has changed over the years, including the addition of a kitchen and gym, it remains primarily a place of worship rooted deep in its history. In 1916, the church held a military funeral for Private John Howard James, the first local casualty of the First World War.
Parking
National Historic Site (Canada)
Self-guided tours available

Glencoe Train Station

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
151 McRae Street
Glencoe, Ontario
Year built: 1904
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
After the railway Toronto and Windsor was built in 1853, Glencoe became a regular stop. While many stations have been built here, the current one dates from 1904. Local soldiers departed from here to fight in the Great War. Beautifully restored by the local community, the station was inducted into the North America Railway Hall of Fame in 2010.
Parking
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Middlesex Centre Archives

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
2652 Gideon Drive
Delaware, Ontario
Building type: Attraction, Cemetery
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Established in 2013, the archives acquires and preserves historical records pertaining to Middlesex Centre. During Doors Open, explore their impressive collection, including a special display of documents and photos commemorating the past 220 years in Delaware. Afterwards, visit the gravesites of early settlers Daniel Springer and Gideon Tiffany located in the Delaware Cemetery across the street.
Parking
First World War

Mount Brydges Cenotaph

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
22501 Adelaide Road
Mount Brydges, Ontario
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark, Military
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
In early 1919, a local meeting of the Township of Caradoc was called to discuss building a memorial to honour the memory of the men of the township who had fought in the Great War. The then-enormous sum of $3,000 was set aside for this purpose. On June 16, 1920, the cenotaph was unveiled. Come and remember with us.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available
First World War

Museum Strathroy-Caradoc

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
34 Frank Street
Strathroy, Ontario
Telephone: 519-245-0492
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
From his southwestern Ontario homestead to the front lines of the Great War, Strathroy native General Sir Arthur Currie rose to command the Canadian Expeditionary Force – the first Canadian to lead Canadians in war. On Monday, August 4, 2014 the community unveiled a life-size bronze statue of Currie as part of the museum’s ongoing Hometown Heroes exhibit.
Parking

St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
26007 Napier Road
Napier, Ontario
Year built: Established in 1864
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The congregation of this church was established in 1863. A new building was erected in 1878 to replace the original church, which was built in 1867. The original manse next door was demolished in 1942 and a new one was purchased on Oxford Street. Stop by to learn more about the church’s fascinating history and marvel at its beautiful architecture.
Parking
First World War

Strathroy Cenotaph

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
34 Frank Street
Strathroy, Ontario
Building type: Attraction, Military
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The Strathroy Cenotaph is located near the Museum Strathroy-Caradoc, on the site of the former town armoury. On August 24, 1924, it was unveiled to honour locals who served in the First World War, with a dedication by General Sir Arthur Currie. Although the armoury was demolished in the 1960s, the cenotaph remains a focal point of the community.

Thames Valley Central Modular Railroad Club

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
255 Upper Queen Street
Thorndale, Ontario
Building type: Attraction, Transportation
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The Thames Valley Central Modular Railroad Club (The Muddy River Line), founded in 1965, was an offshoot of the East London Short Lines Club. It has enjoyed many homes over the years but, since 1999, through the generosity of Sifton Properties and an agreement with the Thorndale Fair Board, the club has been relocated to the fairgrounds.
Parking
Guided tours available

Victorian Pines Bed and Breakfast

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
64 Main Street
Glencoe, Ontario
Year built: 1881
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Style: Victorian
Building type: Commercial, Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This beautiful Victorian yellow-brick house, built in 1881, sits on a picturesque plot of land in a peaceful setting. Relax on the front porch or stroll the grounds shaded by century-old pines. Or come inside and see the original architectural features of this converted bed and breakfast establishment.