Ontario Heritage Trust / Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien
Search

  • General information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 13, 2014 - September 14, 2014

Re-imagine Huron …

… Step into our stories and combine the best of our local heritage and arts. Each of the Doors Open Huron County sites this year will feature arts programming. Take in a music concerts, visual arts and crafts exhibits, or theatre performances while you tour our heritage sites. More programming will occur over the two-day event, including: a stained-glass window tour, architectural walking tours of designated heritage properties, and a speakers’ series featuring local historians.

If you would like to participate in Doors Open Huron County this year as a volunteer:

Contact: Rick Sickinger, Cultural Development Officer
Telephone: 519-482-5457
Email: rsickinger@huroncounty.ca

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Bayfield Town Hall

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
11 The Square
Bayfield, Ontario
Telephone: 519-565-5788
Year built: 1882
Style: Gothic revival
Building type: Historic landmark
Sunday only: Noon to 4 p.m.
Set beside Clan Gregor Square in its own beautiful landscaped grounds, the Bayfield Town Hall – a historical local landmark and once the site of village government – is now the cornerstone of village life. The hall is the perfect venue for cultural, artistic and community events, and offers a unique space for weddings, business meetings and parties.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
First World War

Blyth Memorial Community Hall - Blyth Centre for the Arts

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
423 Queen Street
Blyth, Ontario
Telephone: 519-523-9300
Year built: 1920
Style: Edwardian
Building type: Theatre
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The Blyth Memorial Community Hall, built as a "living cenotaph" to fallen soldiers, is home to the Blyth Centre for the Arts and Blyth Festival – celebrating their 40th season in 2014! The Blyth Festival Singers and Bainton Gallery within the centre will offer programming during Doors Open weekend. Come and experience art and live performances in this world-renowned cultural centre!
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Cinnamon Jim's Café and Upper Deck

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
401 Turnberry Street
Brussels, Ontario
Telephone: 519-887-8011
Year built: 1879
Style: Italianate
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Designated a cultural heritage property, this striking flatiron building in the Italianate style was built in 1879 and once housed the town's post office and newspaper, The Brussels Post. Today, the place is a popular restaurant featuring delicious home cooking, while its Upper Deck regularly hosts great rhythm and blues acts that draw audiences from near and far.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
First World War

Hensall Town Hall - Hensall Opera House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
108 King Street
Hensall, Ontario
Telephone: 519-236-4351
Year built: 1914
Architect: H. Reynolds
Style: Italianate
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This Doors Open event will celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Hensall Town Hall and showcase the Hensall Opera House restoration. Built in 1914, the hall became the area’s civic and cultural centre, drawing crowds to dances, concerts and minstrel shows in the second-floor opera house. Spend a moment at the cenotaph out front, remembering the community’s war dead.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
First World War

Huron County Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
110 North Street
Goderich, Ontario
Telephone: 519-254-2686
Year built: 1856
Architect: William Thomas
Style: Gothic revival
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Explore this museum and discover the social, political, military and artistic history of the county. Special exhibits illustrate the stories of Huron County residents who have made achievements in science, technology and the arts. See a temporary exhibit of pianos, organs and smaller musical instruments from the collection. And learn about local men who served in the First World War.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Huron Historic Gaol

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
181 Victoria Street North
Goderich, Ontario
Telephone: 519-524-6971
Year built: 1839-41
Architect: Thomas Young
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This unique and imposing octagonal building served as the county jail from its opening in 1841 until 1972. When constructed, the gaol was viewed as a model of humanitarian prison design. Now a national historic site, the building originally housed the county courthouse and council chambers, as well as serving as the jail and house of refuge.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Full wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Old Shop, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
199 Turnberry Street North
Brussels, Ontario
Telephone: 519-887-9216
Year built: 1887 and 1904
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Don McNeil has always loved stuff, but he loves history just as much. Housed in a historical building, his collection is a wonderful compilation of the past – everything from street lamps to sleighs – each with its own story. Spend some time among the treasured remnants of Brussels' former glory and the automobile business that McNeil’s father ran for 32 years.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Van Egmond House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
80 Kippen Road
Egmondville, Ontario
Telephone: 519-522-0413
Year built: 1846
Style: Georgian
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This beautiful Georgian manor was built in 1846 by magistrate Constant Van Egmond, son of Colonel Anthony Van Egmond and his wife, Madame Susanna. A tour of this stately heritage residence will reveal the remnants of a basement jail cell, a large farm kitchen, Madame's room and the lovely salon where much entertaining took place.