Ontario Heritage Trust / Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien
Search

  • General information
  • About Grimsby
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 27, 2014

Visit Grimsby during Doors Open Grimsby and ride the signature Doors Open trolley!

Travel back to 1914 on an animated tour of Grimsby Beach, complete with characters from that time. Don't miss the downtown Grimsby music festival, which is modelled after the streets of New Orleans. Join one of our guided walks through the escarpment at the Beamer Memorial Conservation Area.

Visit Grimsby to see many more of our returning favourite sites – but don't miss the new sites for 2014!

In the mid- to late-19th century, Grimsby became known as the Garden of Canada, renowned for its fruit industry (with jams and jellies), and the religious and artistic draw of the Chautauqua of Grimsby Beach. The village of Grimsby was a popular place to visit and in the early 1900s. It hosted one of the largest electric amusement parks between Buffalo and Exhibition Place in Toronto.

Today, Grimsby has a population of approximately 25,000 and is located in the Niagara Region, approximately a one-hour drive from both Toronto and the United States border.

If you are interested in participating as a volunteer for Doors Open Grimsby 2014, contact Janice at jhogg@grimsby.ca or visit www.doorsopen-grimsby.com to learn more!

Parking
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
Trails Open Ontario

Beamer Memorial Conservation Area Walking Tour

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Quarry Road
Grimsby , Ontario
Landscape type: Conservation area
Saturday: Tours at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. only
Walking tours of the Beamer Falls Conservation Area will highlight its history, vegetation, wildlife and geology. From Beamer Falls, the highest point on the Niagara Escarpment, visitors have breathtaking panoramic views of the escarpment. This spot is the ideal place to observe hawk migration, as the majestic birds use updrafts from the ridge to gain altitude for their long flight.
Parking
Washrooms

Carnegie Building, The (Grimsby Archives)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
25 Adelaide Street
Grimsby, Ontario
Telephone: 905-309-2002
Year built: 1911
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
An outstanding example of a Carnegie library influenced by the beaux arts style, this building was constructed in 1911 with a grant from the Carnegie Corporation. The site currently houses the Grimsby Archives. Displays from the archives and a history of the building and Carnegie libraries in Canada will be presented at this Doors Open event.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms

Cibo Osteria Italian Restaurant

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
16 Ontario Street
Grimsby, Ontario
Style: Queen Anne
Building type: Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; tours at 11:30 a.m., 12:30 p.m., 1:30 p.m. and 2:30 p.m. (maximum two groups, 12 people per group, on each tour)
A guided tour of this Queen Anne-style building will showcase its history from a doctor’s office to the current restaurant. Come and see the old speaking tube used to reach the doctor at night – still in place beside the front door. This site will also host a lunchtime barbecue with live music and food for children ($5) and adults ($10).
Parking
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Different Strokes Billiard Hall (former Grimsby Baptist Church)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
19 Elm Street
Grimsby, Ontario
Telephone: 905-945-6599
Year built: 1881
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Built in 1881 as the home of the Grimsby Baptist Church, this building has been successfully adapted for use as the pool hall, Different Strokes. The red brick building with buff brick trim is an excellent example of Baptist church architecture in Ontario and one of the few remaining buildings in Grimsby featuring patterned brickwork.
Parking
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Grimsby Beach Walking Tour

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Meet at the Grimsby Beach Hall, 10 Grand Avenue
Grimsby, Ontario
Saturday: Hourly tours from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Grimsby Park, the "Chautauqua of Canada," became the site of a summer-long Methodist revival event in 1859 and, as times changed, evolved into a colourful cottage resort and amusement park. Many of the distinctive Victorian cottages have been retained. Walking tours starting from the Grimsby Beach Hall will tell the story of this unique lakeside community.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Grimsby Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
6 Murray Street
Grimsby, Ontario
Telephone: 905-309-2091
Year built: 1984
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The Grimsby Museum, established in 1984, is an integral part of the community’s cultural life. The town owns and runs this purpose-built facility, which houses exhibition galleries interpreting Grimsby’s history. The Regency-style entrance is the original doorway from the Marlatt Inn (1855), which once stood on Main Street.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Grimsby Public Art Gallery and Library

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
18 Carnegie Lane (formerly Victoria Avenue)
Grimsby, Ontario
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; tours of the gallery vault occur hourly from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
The Grimsby Public Art Gallery is located in the new library and art gallery complex. Established in 1975 as a non-profit organization, the gallery operates for the benefit and enrichment of the people of Grimsby and the Niagara region. The building also houses the state-of-the-art Grimsby library.
Parking
Kid-friendly

Hamilton, Grimsby and Beamsville Electric Railway

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Meet at the Grimsby Museum (6 Murray Street) or the Grimsby Beach Hall (10 Grand Avenue)
Grimsby, Ontario
Year built: 1890s
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Enjoy a free ride on this historical interpretation of the former Hamilton, Grimsby and Beamsville electric railway. The construction of the railway began in 1893, which extended the Hamilton and Dundas Street Railway to Beamsville. It offered 12 trips a day, going 20 miles per hour! Take an express ride from either the Grimsby Museum or the Grimsby Beach Hall.
Parking
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Union Lodge Hall

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
33 Main Street West
Grimsby, Ontario
Telephone: 905-945-5690
Year built: 1919; organization established 1799
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Union Lodge No. 15, founded in 1799, operated at various Grimsby sites before moving in 1920 to the second floor of a downtown hardware store. The lodge remains there still. A walking tour of downtown Grimsby will explore the Union Lodge Hall and historic uses of places such as the farmers' market and the former Baptist church.