Search

  • General information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 30, 2017

Visit Burlington’s heritage sites, noteworthy buildings and interesting locations – FREE of charge during Doors Open.

Many of these buildings and locations will offer special activities throughout the day.

Connect with us on Facebook and Twitter (@DOBurlington) for continuing updates leading up to the event.

Doors Open events cannot happen without the help of volunteers.

If you would like to learn about Burlington’s history and heritage and have some fun in the process, we encourage you to join us!

Please visit our website for more information!

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Bayview Cemetery, Crematory & Mausoleum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
740 Spring Gardens Road
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-522-5466
Year built: 1924
Building type: Cemetery
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Bayview Cemetery, Crematory & Mausoleum remains a historical gem in the village of Aldershot. Architecturally stunning, the mausoleum is filled with handcrafted stained glass, bronze statues, marble and granite, and features the original Greek-style columns on its front façade. The unique carillon tower outside plays music and holds cremated remains, one of the few in North America.

Parking
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Burlington Masonic Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
459 Brant Street
Burlington, Ontario
Year built: 1853
Architect: James Allen
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The original building, constructed between 1850 and 1853, housed James Allen's carriage-making business, which produced many of the horse carts and sleighs for the Hamilton Street Railway. The Masons purchased the building in 1909 and expanded it in 1953-54. The lodge room and banquet room are on the second floor; the first floor is rented for commercial purposes.

Parking
Washrooms

Canadian Red Cross Society (Burlington Branch)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
262 Guelph Line
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-637-5664
Year built: 1862
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built on land that once belonged to John Brant, the Wesleyan Methodist Church and School was built in 1862. While the church changed its name throughout the years, the one-storey front-gabled frame structure’s exterior has remained unchanged. Since 1969, it has been owned and operated by the Canadian Red Cross Society.

Parking

Freeman Station

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1255 Fairview Street
Burlington, Ontario
Year built: 1906
Architect: Grand Trunk Railway
Building type: Transportation
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built in 1906 for the Grand Trunk Railway as a combination passenger and baggage depot, the Burlington West Station (formerly Burlington Junction, known as “Freeman Station”) exhibits many stylistic features characteristic of Grand Trunk Railway stations constructed in that decade. A group of volunteers, the Friends of Freeman Station, manages the station.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Halton Mosque and Halton Islamic Association

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
4310 Fairview Street
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-333-9856
Year built: c. 1990
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built in the early 1990s, Masjid Halton – the only mosque in Burlington – has been a place for prayer, learning and recreation for the Burlington Muslim community. Visitors will have a chance to ask and learn about Islam and Muslims during a guided tour, as well as enjoy a free barbecue and fun activities for adults and children.

Parking
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Ireland House Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
2168 Guelph Line
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-332-9888
Year built: 1837
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built in 1837, Ireland House was the home of Joseph Ireland, one of Burlington's earliest settlers. Ireland House Museum is a local treasure, with four acres of woodland, the original family home, gardens, cottage/drive shed and picnic areas. Explore the history of Ireland House through guided tours and historical demonstrations.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Knox Presbyterian Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
461 Elizabeth Street
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-333-3013
Year built: 1845
Architect: James Cushie Bent
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Martha and Andrew Gage, early Burlington residents, donated the land for this church in 1845. By 1876, the frame church was bursting at the seams; a larger building was needed. Three years after Burlington was incorporated as a village, the cornerstone was laid for a new building. The original Bell Tower Room still stands as one of Burlington’s oldest buildings.

Parking

Lowville School House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
6207 Lowville Park Road
Burlington, Ontario
Year built: 1889
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built on an acre of land donated from the farm of Joseph Featherstone, the school house served the students of SS. No. 9 until 1953. It was built of local fieldstone from the farm of Mervyn Coulson and sand for the mortar came from the Cleaver Mill Pond. The woodshed at the end gable is part of the original structure.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Lowville United Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
5800 Guelph Line
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-335-0911
Year built: 1872
Style: Gothic revival
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

One of the area’s first settlers was an American who purchased 80 hectares (200 acres) of land and settled in 1822. Many other families lived in this thriving community until the railway bypassed the area, which signaled the beginning of the end of its commercial enterprises. Today, Lowville United still stands as a reminder of the faith of its forefathers.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Roseland Park Country Club

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
3079 Princess Blvd.
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-634-6068
Year built: c. 1920s
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Roseland is an area that was laid out in part by Ross Hart in 1922 and extended by the Cleaver family in 1924. Founded in 1929, the Roseland Park Country Club continues a proud tradition of promoting health and well-being. Come and explore the clubhouse and grounds, still run by its members.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

St. John the Baptist Roman Catholic Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
2016 Blairholm Avenue
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-634-2485
Year built: 1861
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday mass at 5 p.m. (all are welcome)

This church, established in the downtown core in 1849, continues to be a vital community of faith. Father Robert Sims and the congregation invite visitors to tour this charming, traditional church with its elegant sanctuary, stained-glass windows and beautiful Letourneau pipe organ. Enjoy a tour of the church and then visit the adjoining St. John Park to reflect and relax.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

St. John's Anglican Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
2464 Dundas Street
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-336-5164
Year built: 1839
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Built in 1839, St. John’s is the second-oldest Anglican church in Burlington. Worship takes place in the present building on Sundays at 10 a.m. This unique church has two stained-glass windows and a restored cemetery with grave markers as old as the church itself. Please join us for tours, handouts, snacks and refreshments.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

St. Luke's Anglican Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1382 Ontario Street
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-634-1826
Year built: 1834
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The oldest church in Burlington, St. Luke’s was completed in 1834 and consecrated in 1838. Elizabeth Brant, daughter of Captain Joseph Brant, donated part of the Crown land – which was granted for services rendered during the American Revolution – for the construction of the church. View the stained-glass windows, showing scenes from the Bible and many saints, including St. Luke.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

St. Matthew on-the-Plains Anglican Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
126 Plains Road East
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-632-1233
Year built: 1861
Building type: Cemetery, Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The congregation of St. Matthew on-the-Plains began meeting in 1849 in local pioneers’ homes. In 1861, land was donated for the construction of what became known as the “little white church.” Various additions and renovations were made to the original church, including the present parish hall. In 1966, a new church was constructed, with the parish hall being retained.

Parking
Full wheelchair access

Thinkspot-Walt Rickli Sculpture Garden

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
6210 Lowville Park Road
Burlington, Ontario
Telephone: 905-484-1670
Year built: 2000
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Walt Rickli Sculpture Garden is nestled within the Niagara Escarpment in the historical hamlet of Lowville alongside Bronte Creek. Located across from Lowville Park, the sculpture garden features an ongoing rotation of Rickli’s hand-carved water sculptures, abstract and realistic stone sculptures, as well as mixed media works.

Parking
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Union Burying Ground

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1001 Plains Road East
Burlington, Ontario
Year built: 1848
Architect: Brick wall built in 1882 by Jabez Bent
Building type: Cemetery
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

In 1848, a number of pioneer families established the Union Burying Ground on farm land owned by Asahel Davis, an early Burlington resident. The memorial markers commemorate some of the earliest Loyalist families important to the early growth and prosperity of Nelson Township and the village of Wellington Square. Today, their descendants manage and maintain these heritage-designated grounds.