Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

June 10, 2017 - June 11, 2017

Ever wonder what some of our most fascinating buildings and homes look like from the inside?

Doors Open Bruce County allows you the opportunity to explore some of our most interesting and significant landmarks.

It was 150 years ago this year …

They came by trails less traveled, by whatever means available – some walking, many by oxcart, some even by boat where the trail was marked by sun and stars. What connected them was an energetic sense of adventure, discovery and the tenacity to see the journey and destination as equally important.

These were the pioneers of Bruce County, as it was granted status in 1867. Ours is a history of people and explorers, one and all. And from that perspective alone, there is much that connects our past to our present and future.

Bruce County today is a community of explorers, both residents and visitors. We share a deep sense of natural curiosity and a deep desire for a better life – a better adventure – or perhaps a unique take on both. We work the land differently, we work together differently, just as early generations did. What the soil or the landscape does not provide, we create through equal measures of sweat and innovation. We preserve forests as well as harvest them. We appreciate beauty as much as we shape it to our advantage.

Join us during Doors Open Bruce County and see for yourself what sets us apart.

Please contact us at 150info@brucecounty.on.ca if you are interested in volunteering at any of our sites during Doors Open.

Parking

Aiken Brothers Home Hardware

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
7740 Highway 21
Allenford, Ontario
Telephone: 519-934-1252
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

In 1910, Moffatt and Albert Aiken established Aiken Brothers Hardware. Younger brother Harvey joined after the First World War. In 1961, it became a Home Hardware. The building sits on the boundary between South Bruce Peninsula and the Township of Arran-Elderslie. The site is a two-time recipient of the Golden Hammer Award.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Albadon Farms

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
4713 Bruce Road 4
Teeswater, Ontario
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The Ireland family started farming at their current location in 1866. It was a mixed livestock farm and began to focus more on dairy production around 1920. In 1947, they switched from milking shorthorns to purebred Holsteins. Today, the farm is home to 480 Holstein cattle with 220 of those currently being milked three times per day.

Bijou Theatre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
108 1st Avenue South
Chesley, Ontario
Year built: 1938
Building type: Theatre
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The Bijou Theatre was constructed in 1938 by the Town of Chesley as the north half of its new town hall complex. Named the Roxy at the time, it was a popular centre of entertainment. Many long-time citizens can recall attending movies at the Roxy, taking dates there and perhaps not seeing a lot of the movie.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Bruce Botanical Food Gardens

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
62 Park Street
Ripley, Ontario
Year built: 2012
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Attraction, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This is not your typical country garden experience. Bedspring fencing, wire spool tables, tractor seat stools and reclaimed items throughout are surrounded by over 10,000 food plants all grown using natural, sustainable methods. The organization, entering its fifth year, is dedicated to showcasing hundreds of rare, endangered and heirloom food plants from around the globe, all in a park-like setting.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
33 Victoria Street North
Southampton, Ontario
Telephone: 519-797-2080
Year built: 1878
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark, Museum, Theatre
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Southampton Public School was erected in 1878. After it closed in 1954, it was purchased by Bruce County Council for $1, with the stipulation that it be used as a museum. The museum has gone through several incarnations (the newest build project was completed in 2005) and features award-winning exhibits, programming, archives and heritage buildings.

Parking
Self-guided tours available

Bruce County (Walkerton) Jail

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
209 Cayley Street
Walkerton, Ontario
Year built: 1866
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Formerly the Walkerton Jail, this stone building cost $14,670 to build. Convicted murderer John Haag, who was hanged here in 1868, survived because of a conspiracy between his doctor and the hangman. In 1968, the provincial government leased the jail, which served as a correctional institution until it was closed in December 2011.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Bruce Power Visitors' Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
3394 Bruce County Road 20 (Concession Road 4)
Tiverton, Ontario
Telephone: 866-748-4787
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Explore the world of nuclear energy at the Bruce Power Visitors' Centre. It has more than 40 exhibits and displays, offers tours of the simulated reactor and control room, and from the deck provides an impressive view of Canada's first commercial nuclear station – the world's largest power development. Visiting the centre is a must-see, hands-on, fun and informative experience.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Self-guided tours available

Cenotaph

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
85 Yonge Street
Tara, Ontario
Building type: Military
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The property where this cenotaph is located was donated to the village of Tara by George Gerolamy. The Tara Women’s Institute donated $1,550, Arran Township donated $600 and Tara donated $350 to build the cenotaph. In 2015, it was refurbished through donations from the community and the Tara Legion.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Trails

Coyote Ridge

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
359 Concession 2W
Mildmay, Ontario
Telephone: 519-367-2102
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Nestled in the hills of Carrick Township, Coyote Ridge is a unique and peaceful environment for horses, riders and their families. Coyote Ridge offers individual and semi-private lessons and therapeutic equine sessions. Patricia Kell, owner/operator, is a certified intermediate level therapeutic riding instructor with the Canadian Therapeutic Riding Association who wants to share her understanding of horses.

Parking
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Crate Designs

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
87 7th Street Southwest
Chesley, Ontario
Telephone: 519-363-3221
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Crate Designs carries on a tradition of producing quality Canadian furniture at their factory since 1906! The company formed as The Chesley Chair Company. When the product line broadened beyond just chairs, the name was changed to Heirloom of Canada. The Heirloom line was discontinued in the 1990s, and the name changed again to reflect the focus on Crate furniture.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Dunblane Presbyterian Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
230 The River Road
Saugeen Shores, Ontario
Year built: 1859
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The original church, a log structure, was built on the Scott farm, Lot 26, Concession 7, Saugeen Township in 1859 by the people of the neighbourhood. It was constructed from cut cedar taken from the banks of the river. The log structure remains, but has been covered with board and batten on the outside and plaster inside.

Parking
Self-guided tours available

Dyball Home

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
8 4th Street Southwest
Chesley, Ontario
Year built: 1903
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Located on a picturesque corner on Chesley's Main Street (now 1st Avenue) stand four stately houses.  This one was built around 1903 by James and Catherine Halliday. James was a cattle dealer. It is currently owned by Dave and Joyce Dyball.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access

E.S. Fox Observatory

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
3092 Bruce Road 13
South Bruce Peninsula, Ontario
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and 9 p.m. to midnight; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The Fox Observatory is used jointly by the Bluewater Outdoor Education Centre and the Bluewater Astronomical Society (BAS). The observatory allows students, BAS members and the public to experience stargazing. Telescopes treat visitors to celestial sights, including nearby planets and objects at the edge of our view. Objects visible in the evening sky include Jupiter, Saturn, the Moon and more.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Flach Family Homestead

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
2340 Highway 9
Walkerton, Ontario
Year built: 1864
Architect: John Flach
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This three-level stone dwelling was built by John Flach in 1864. In 1996, his great-granddaughter took ownership of this mixed-farming property. Recently, local artisans and building designers have restored the home, whose furnishings reflect an earlier way of living. The restoration includes a working windmill, lavish outhouse and groomed landscape.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Healing Arc, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
166 Sideroad 25 South
Teeswater, Ontario
Telephone: 519-745-2365
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The Healing Arc’s orchard is situated on beautiful, rolling Bruce County farmland. It is the first fruit-producing Sea Buckthorn Orchard in Ontario and recipient of the Premier’s Award of Agri-Food Innovation Excellence. The orchard resembles a tropical paradise as the trees are laden with brilliant orange fruit. The berries – with their tart citrus flavour – are nutritious, refreshing, versatile and local!

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Hoity Toity Cellars

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1723 Highway 9
Mildmay, Ontario
Telephone: 519-507-1723
Building type: Attraction, Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The current owners ran a successful market garden for 20 years before they decided they would break into the winery business, starting with 6 hectares (15 acres) of high-density apple trees and grape vines. Today, the farm is eco-friendly, working toward sustainable farming and natural viticulture methods. They offer an agri-tourism experience, sharing stories of the land and the community.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Immaculate Conception Church Formosa

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
212 Concession 12
Formosa, Ontario
Year built: 1875-85
Building type: Cemetery, Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This church, situated at the top of the hill, was envisioned as a permanent church for the growing Roman Catholic parish. The old wooden church had expanded twice, so the architect was charged with designing a stone church to seat 1,200 to 1,500 people. The shell of the new church, completed in 1880, was constructed over the original wooden church.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Inverhuron Pioneer Cemetery

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
19 Jordan Road
Inverhuron, Ontario
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Building type: Attraction, Cemetery
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: Noon to 4 p.m.

Step back in time and wander through overgrown trees and hilly terrain while exploring this cemetery, located just inside the gates to Inverhuron Provincial Park, where headstones tell the stories of area pioneers. Continue your stroll further along to the Gate House, where you can explore displays of archaeological artifacts. Sturdy footwear is strongly advised at this site.

Parking
Self-guided tours available

Jacob Bock Home

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
194 Concession 6
Saugeen Shores, Ontario
Year built: 1875
Style: Gothic revival
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This house was built by local carpenter Jacob Bock and set on the hill for a scenic view of Saugeen Township and Mill Creek. The Gothic revival style of this home was popular in Ontario at the time and common for farmhouses and churches. The home has been recently renovated, and the owners have maintained its historical charm.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Kincardine Lighthouse

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
236 Harbour Street
Kincardine, Ontario
Year built: 1880
Building type: Historic landmark, Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This unique, octagonal wooden lighthouse is just steps from downtown. The Kincardine Yacht Club operates the lighthouse as a maritime museum during the summer months. Tours include the keeper’s quarters and the tower up to the light, and interesting artifacts and memorabilia related to Kincardine’s sailing past are displayed throughout. Check the website for year-round webcam views!

Life Saving Station

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
20 Beach Road
Southampton, Ontario
Year built: 1908
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This cottage – which is over 100 years old – was the former Life Saving Station in Southampton. Southampton lobbied for years for the station to be built. It was designed to house an 8.2-metre-long (27-foot-long) rescue boat, and the upstairs was used as sleeping quarters for the rescue crew. It was sold in 1938 and moved to its current location.

Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly

Lucknow Town Hall

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
526 Campbell Street
Lucknow, Ontario
Building type: Library, Theatre
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This building is currently home to the Lucknow branch of the Bruce County Libraries and HAWK Theatre. The Andrew Carnegie Foundation donated $7,500 toward the $10,000 cost of this library building, which opened in 1910. Prior to amalgamation in 1999, the building also served as the municipal office for the Village of Lucknow and became known as Lucknow Town Hall.

Parking
Self-guided tours available

Matthew Halliday Home

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
145 1st Avenue South
Chesley, Ontario
Year built: c. 1893
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

John Halliday Elliott originally owned this property. Elliott was Reeve of Chesley for a number of years and Warden of Bruce County in 1896. Matthew Halliday built the house on the property around 1893. Halliday was Mayor of Chesley and was present during the presentation of colours by Premier Hearst to the 160th Bruce Battalion June 3, 1916.

Parking
Washrooms

Outlaw Brew Co.

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
196 High Street
Southampton, Ontario
Telephone: 519-797-1515
Year built: 1867
Architect: Joseph Gilbert
Building type: Commercial, Historic landmark, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This building, on the corner of Highway 21 and High Street, was originally the Southampton Hotel, built in 1867 by Joseph Gilbert who at that time was also the hotel keeper. This location has transformed into what is now a landmark destination craft brewery. Outlaw Brew Co. takes inspiration from its historical rural location in Bruce County.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Paisley Hose Tower

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
302 Water Street
Paisley, Ontario
Year built: 1891
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The Hose Tower was the centre of fire protection in Paisley. Inside, a steam-powered pump forced water from the Saugeen River for hydrants along Queen Street. Inside this octagonal building, some original features remain intact – including the pulley system. The hose reels and ladder carts were used by the village fire department until 1946.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Paisley Town Hall - Royal Canadian Legion

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
338 Goldie Street
Paisley, Ontario
Year built: 1876
Building type: Historic landmark, Theatre, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The Paisley Town Hall is a prominent structure at the confluence of the Teeswater and Saugeen rivers on Paisley’s Market Square. The building was built by local craftsmen with local materials. Originally built as the town hall, the building also acted as local library, school, fire hall, newspaper office, jail and now the Paisley Branch of the Royal Canadian Legion.

Parking
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Point Clark Lighthouse

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
530 Lighthouse Road
Point Clark, Ontario
Year built: 1859
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark, Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The Point Clark Lighthouse, built by John Brown, is a National Historic Site. Between 2010 and 2015, the lighthouse underwent extensive reconstruction. Over 300 stones were replaced, and the entire tower was re-grouted and white-washed. A spectacular view of the sandy Lake Huron shoreline awaits. It is definitely worth the climb up the 112 steps to reach the top!

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms

Port Elgin Library

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
708 Goderich Street
Port Elgin, Ontario
Telephone: 519-832-2201
Year built: 1908
Style: Beaux arts
Building type: Library
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The Miller brothers, local carpenters, built the library for the town of Port Elgin with money from the Carnegie Free Library Trust. The stairs leading up to the entrance represent Andrew Carnegie’s belief in the elevation of learning. An addition was built in 2009, making the library fully accessible.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Royal Canadian Legion Branch 383

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
86 River Street
Tara, Ontario
Building type: Military, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

After the First World War, a branch of the Great War Veterans’ Association was formed. In 1946, the Royal Canadian Legion Branch 383 Tara incorporated; the building was bought in 1952. A large addition was made in 2004 and a mural painted by local artist Tim Noble in 2007, depicting the cenotaph and First and Second World War elements.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
47 Albert Street North
Southampton, Ontario
Year built: 1863
Building type: Place of worship, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The United Presbyterian Church, located along the riverbank, was used from 1863 to 1887. The church was moved to its current location in 1887 and renamed St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church. Soon after, the Sunday school building was added. In 1911, the belfry, steeple and two new entrances were also added.

Washrooms

St. Lukes Anglican Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
403 Alice Street
Point Clark, Ontario
Building type: Cemetery, Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

St. Luke’s Anglican Church was built in 1862 in the small community of Lurgan. It was built out of the pine trees cleared from the lot and is said to be a replica of the builder’s parish church in his English hometown. The church and cemetery overlook Pine River and can only be accessed via a tree-covered bridge.

Parking
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Saugeen River Range Light (back)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
2 South Rankin Street
Southampton, Ontario
Year built: 1903
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark, Transportation
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The range lights at the mouth of the Saugeen River are designed to guide mariners safely into the harbour. The range lights started as lanterns raised up about 15 metres (50 feet) above the water on a tall mast. The square, tapered range lights were built to replace the lanterns and sit about 700 metres (2,300 feet) apart.

Parking
Self-guided tours available

Silken Retreat Bed and Breakfast

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
570 Johnston Avenue
Port Elgin, Ontario
Year built: 1901
Style: Edwardian
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This home was built by William John Strong, a manufacturer, mariner and sea captain. In 1909, Strong sold the property to John McCallum, an implement agent, and moved to Vancouver, never returning to Port Elgin. McCallum added the summer kitchen, shed and narrow back stairs. Of note is the wrap-around verandas with strategic views of the downtown.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Smiths’ Apples and Farm Market

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
470 The River Road
Saugeen Shores, Ontario
Telephone: 519-832-3051
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Commercial, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Smiths’ Apples and Farm Market is an operational apple orchard between Port Elgin and Burgoyne in Saugeen Township. The farm was started in the late 1990s by Steve and Micki Smith, and is now operated by Jim Mondry and Katie Lutz. The site includes apple orchards, a farm market store and a commercial bakery.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Southampton Town Hall

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
201 High Street
Southampton, Ontario
Year built: 1911
Architect: D.G. Krugler
Building type: Attraction, Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Southampton Town Hall is located at the major intersection of Albert and High streets. It is a focal point of the community and the still-working clock tower marks the physical, historical and social centre of Southampton. The building ceased to serve as the town hall in 1999, but continues to be used for public and private functions.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Stoltz Sales & Service Farm Equipment

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1405 Highway 9
Mildmay, Ontario
Telephone: 519-367-2672
Building type: Commercial, Food and drink
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Stoltz Sales & Service is a family-owned dealership that sells a full line of agricultural equipment, including Case IH, Cub Cadet and Mahindra – their newest line of tractors and XTVs. During Doors Open, they will be hosting a Summer Kickoff event, which includes ride and drives, a bouncy castle and a charity barbecue, with proceeds going to support mental health.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Trinity Anglican Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
491 Gould Street
Wiarton, Ontario
Telephone: 519-534-1604
Year built: 1890-91
Architect: Edward Kyte
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Trinity Anglican was completed in 1891. Built by Edward Kyte, a master stonemason, with mostly volunteer labour, it is constructed of rusticated limestone with four fine points on top of the tower. Three original, though altered, chimneys remain. The triple windows, repeated throughout the building, feature both imported and local stained glass.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Vanderlip Dairy Goat Facility

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
868 Elderslie Arran Townline
Dobbinton, Ontario
Year built: 2016
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Marlie and Jan Willem started their dairy goat operation in 2011. Their new 2,000-head dairy goat facility was built in 2016 – with one of the world’s most innovative rotary parlours where 120 goats are milked at once. It has a capacity of milking over a 1,000 goats per hour and is fully automated with goat identification and individual programmed feeding.

Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Victoria Jubilee Hall

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
111 Jackson Street South
Walkerton, Ontario
Telephone: 519-881-2826
Year built: 1897
Style: Victorian
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This edifice has served as municipal offices, a marketplace, a police station and a fire hall. Noted Canadian artist David Milne drew the hall, probably while attending high school in Walkerton. Volunteers, helped by the Architectural Conservancy of Ontario, saved the building from demolition. Thousands of people visit every year to attend meetings, music recitals and an entertainment series.

Parking
Self-guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Walker House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
15 McNab Street
Walkerton, Ontario
Year built: 1860
Style: Georgian
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

In 1852, Joseph Walker founded the town of Walkerton. He built a gristmill and then a log home for his wife Jane and their three sons. His home was also the local hotel, a welcome resting place for weary pioneers. It was replaced with this Georgian-revival rubble limestone structure in 1860. Today, it houses the Walker House Financial Group.

Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Walkerton Armoury

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
215 Jane Street
Walkerton, Ontario
Style: Renaissance revival
Building type: Military
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Walkerton received $10,000 to build a place to store the guns, drums and fifes of the local military. Architectural features of this Renaissance revival-style, pressed red-brick building include two continuous limestone belts around it, midway up and under the eaves. It became the home of the 32nd and 160th Bruce Battalions and later the Second World War 97th Field Battery.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Walkerton Clean Water Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
20 Ontario Road
Walkerton, Ontario
Telephone: 519-881-2003
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The centre was established in 2004 by the Government of Ontario as a result of the water crisis of 2000, when seven people died and thousands became ill from tainted water. This world-class institute, dedicated to safe and secure drinking water, provides technical training, education, information and advice for operators of drinking water systems across Ontario.

Parking
Self-guided tours available

Walkerton Heritage Water Garden

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
6 First Street
Walkerton, Ontario
Landscape type: Garden
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This garden contains a memorial fountain, inspired by the biblical story of Moses striking a rock in the desert to bring water to the Israelites. The fountain is a symbol of water as positive, life-affirming and healing. The garden also contains a heritage walk, with Walkerton's proud history told in a series of plaques.

Parking
Self-guided tours available

Wellington Krug House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
159 1st Avenue South
Chesley, Ontario
Year built: c. 1885
Style: Queen Anne
Building type: Commercial, Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

James Grant, owner of the Chesley Woolen Mills, built this house circa 1885. Annie and Conrad Krug (Conrad was one of the founders of Krug Bros. Furniture) bought it in 1914, and later their only son, Wellington Krug, lived here. The home has a beautiful leaded-glass front door and the interior intricacies of the Queen Anne style.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Wiarton Train Station

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
400 William Street (in Bluewater Park)
Wiarton, Ontario
Telephone: 519-534-1400, ext. 101
Year built: 1904
Landscape type: Conservation area
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

This 1904 Canadian National Railway station closed in 1960. It was moved from its former site to its current location in Bluewater Park in 1971. Built entirely of wood in combined chateau and stick styles, the station has Queen Anne towers on its bay side and magnificent coffered tongue-and-groove ceilings. It now houses the heritage interpretive centre and gallery.

Parking
Self-guided tours available

Wright House in Wiarton Bed & Breakfast, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
501 Frank Street
Wiarton, Ontario
Telephone: 519-534-5010
Year built: 1894
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

Presently operating as The Wright House in Wiarton Bed & Breakfast, this house is a combination of two structures. The first structure was a five-room wooden house owned by Thomas Hurst, a wealthy lumber merchant and carriage maker. In 1903, the house was sold to David Wright, who added the brick addition and brought the two structures together.