Sites
Filtrer les sites selon :(add a filter)

Remarque : Cet événement ne fait pas partie de la saison actuelle de Portes ouvertes Ontario. Pour savoir quels sont les événements prévus et consulter les listes à jour, visitez la page d’accueil.

St. Catharines

4 Sites

Decew Generating Station 1 (Ontario Power Generation)Doors Open St. Catharines

Nouvelle

Decew Generating Station 1 (Ontario Power Generation)

En 1898, la Cataract Power Company (aujourd'hui Ontario Power Generation) a commencé à produire et à transporter de l'électricité de St. Catharines à Hamilton. Ce projet entrepreneurial a permis de transporter l'électricité sur une distance stupéfiante de 56 kilomètres (35 miles) - la plus longue distance de transport d'électricité au Canada à l'époque, et la deuxième plus longue distance au monde! La centrale demeure un élément fonctionnel du patrimoine hydroélectrique du Canada. Regardez la vidéo ci-dessous dans le cadre des Portes ouvertes en ligne et apprenez-en davantage sur ce site fascinant.

  • Portes ouvertes en ligne
  • Vidéos

Architecture

Année de construction: 1898
Types de bâtiment: Commercial Monument historique

Dates/hours open

mai 20 - mai 20

Palais de justice de St. CatharinesDoors Open St. Catharines

Nouvelle

Palais de justice de St. Catharines

L'ancien palais de justice du comté a été construit à l'angle des rues James et King en 1849. Trois ans plus tard, le conseil municipal a approuvé l'installation d'une horloge dans la tour. L'horloge demeure une merveille d'ingénierie en état de marche et constitue l'un des nombreux témoins du passé de St. Catharines. Dans le cadre de Portes ouvertes en ligne, visionnez la vidéo ci-dessous pour en savoir plus sur l'histoire de l'horloge. Aujourd'hui, le palais de justice est utilisé par la ville de St. Catharines comme bureaux municipaux.

  • Portes ouvertes en ligne
  • Vidéos

Coordonnées

101, rue King
St. Catharines, Ontario

Architecture

Année de construction: 1852
Types de bâtiment: Palais de justice Bâtiment gouvernemental Monument historique
Architect: Kivas Tully

Dates/hours open

mai 20 - mai 20

Phare Inner Range (Port Dalhousie)Doors Open St. Catharines

Nouvelle

Phare Inner Range (Port Dalhousie)

La construction du phare Inner Range a commencé en 1898. Il mesure 16 mètres (52,5 pieds) de haut et possède un cadre effilé à huit côtés qui soutient une lanterne à 12 côtés et une girouette en forme de castor. L'accès à la lanterne est assuré par quatre escaliers en bois très abrupts et étroits. Aujourd'hui, les phares de Port Dalhousie sont un symbole de St. Catharines et de son histoire maritime. Explorez ce phare fascinant dans le cadre de Portes ouvertes en ligne grâce à la vidéo ci-dessous.

  • Portes ouvertes en ligne
  • Vidéos

Architecture

Année de construction: 1898
Types de bâtiment: Monument historique

Dates/hours open

mai 20 - mai 20

The Brown HomesteadDoors Open St. Catharines

The Brown Homestead

Venez visiter The Brown Homestead pendant que ses portes sont à nouveau ouvertes à la communauté! The Brown Homestead est le site de la plus ancienne maison de St. Catharines. Il fait actuellement l’objet de travaux de restauration et est en passe de devenir un important centre culturel – un lieu d’innovation, d’éducation, de connexion communautaire et de défense du patrimoine.

  • Portes ouvertes en ligne
  • Vidéos

Coordonnées

1317 Pelham Road
St. Catharines, Ontario
https://thebrownhomestead.ca

Architecture

Année de construction: 1796
Types de bâtiment: Maison historique

Dates/hours open

août 20 - août 20

Note: This event may not be part of the current Doors Open Ontario season. For up-to-date events and listings, visit the Home page. For Toronto and Ottawa, check their local websites to confirm.

St. Catharines

4 Sites

Decew Generating Station 1 (Ontario Power Generation)Doors Open St. Catharines

New

Decew Generating Station 1 (Ontario Power Generation)

In 1898, the Cataract Power Company (now Ontario Power Generation) began generating and transmitting electricity from St. Catharines to Hamilton. The entrepreneurial project resulted in the transmission of electricity a staggering 56 kilometers (35 miles) – the longest distance that electricity had been transmitted in Canada at that time, and the second-longest distance in the world! The station remains a working piece of Canada’s hydroelectric heritage. Check out the video below as part of Digital Doors Open and learn more about this fascinating site.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Videos

Architecture

Year built: 1898
Building type: Commercial Historical landmark

Dates/hours open

Jun 13 - Jun 13

St. Catharines CourthouseDoors Open St. Catharines

New

St. Catharines Courthouse

The old county courthouse was built at the corner of James and King streets in 1849. Three years later, town council approved putting a clock into the tower. The clock remains a working engineering marvel and is one of the many landmarks from St. Catharines’ past. As part of Digital Doors Open, watch the video below to learn more about the history of the clock. Today, the courthouse is used by the City of St. Catharines as municipal offices.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Videos

Contact info

101 King Street
St. Catharines, Ontario

Architecture

Year built: 1852
Building type: Courthouse Government building Historical landmark
Architect: Kivas Tully

Dates/hours open

Jun 13 - Jun 13

Inner Range Lighthouse (Port Dalhousie)Doors Open St. Catharines

New

Inner Range Lighthouse (Port Dalhousie)

Construction of the inner range lighthouse began in 1898. It is 16 metres (52.5 feet) high and has a tapered eight-sided frame that supports a 12-sided lantern and beaver-shaped weathervane. Access to the lantern is provided by four very steep and narrow wooden staircases. Today, the lighthouses in Port Dalhousie serve as a symbol of St. Catharines and its maritime history. Explore this fascinating lighthouse as part of Digital Doors Open through the video below.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Videos

Architecture

Year built: 1898
Building type: Historical landmark

Dates/hours open

Jun 13 - Jun 13

Brown Homestead, TheDoors Open St. Catharines

Brown Homestead, The

Come and visit The Brown Homestead as its doors are once again opened to the community! The Brown Homestead is the site of the oldest house in St. Catharines. They are currently undergoing restoration work and are on their way to becoming an important cultural centre, a site for innovation, education, community connection and heritage advocacy.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Videos

Contact info

1317 Pelham Road
St. Catharines, Ontario
https://thebrownhomestead.ca

Architecture

Year built: 1796
Building type: Historical house

Dates/hours open

Aug 20 - Aug 20