Ontario Heritage Trust / Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien
Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

September 27, 2014

Doors Open Mississauga will host sites across the city for free viewing. The public is welcome to enjoy guided tours and featured artists.

More information coming soon!

The City of Mississauga is located on the shores of Lake Ontario. Diversity and innate beauty make Mississauga a preferred destination.

The Town of Mississauga was created in 1968, and the city was incorporated in 1974 through the amalgamation of the Town of Mississauga and the villages of Port Credit and Streetsville. Together, with portions of the township of Toronto Gore and Trafalgar, Mississauga has grown to be Canada's 6th largest city.

If you are interested in volunteering for Doors Open Mississauga, contact Stephanie Myhal at stephanie.myhal@mississauga.ca for more information.

Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Benares Historic House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1507 Clarkson Road North
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 905-615-4860, ext. 2110
Year built: 1857
Architect: William Hay
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This designated site was made famous by author Mazo de la Roche. During Doors Open, explore what life was like during the First World War – both in the battlefield and on the home front – through interactive, activity-based stations. Re-enactors and historical interpreters will share their expertise and skills to provide realistic hands-on experiences. Heritage Mississauga will feature a virtual cenotaph.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Heritage House Dental (Forster House)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
820 Britannia Road West
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 905-814-1600
Year built: 1846, rehabilitated in 2010
Style: Georgian
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This house exemplifies the symmetry, order, materials and formality of the Georgian style, built circa 1848 on a 100-acre agricultural property granted to the Forster family. Heritage House Dental is a fine example of adaptive reuse, where a modern business embraces the heritage aspect of the building. The Forster House received designation in 2010.

Holcim Waterfront Estate (formerly Harding House)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
2700 Lakeshore Road West
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 905-615-4840
Year built: 1938
Architect: Marani Lawson and Morris
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Holcim Waterfront Estate (Harding House) is a rare surviving example of the early-20th-century country estates wealthy Torontonians established in this area. The modern classical manor was home to Kathleen Harding of Harding Carpets fame. Her first husband died prematurely, just months after the building was completed. She later married philanthropist James Arthur Gairdner. They lived here until 1960.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
Trails Open Ontario

Kariya Park

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Kariya Drive (off Burnhamthorpe Road east of Mississauga Civic Centre)
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 905-615-3200, ext. 2109
Year built: 1992
Architect: City of Mississauga (architects Paul Taylor and Dan Euser)
Landscape type: Garden
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Kariya Park is a testament to the strong friendship between Mississauga and Kariya, Japan, cities twinned in 1981. Their lasting relationship is evident in this park, with its bronze friendship bell and a photo mosaic of over 6,700 images. The Mississauga Friendship Association will animate this site with kendo demonstrations and dance performances. Japanese refreshments will be available for sale.
Parking
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available

Koliba Park, Slovak Canadian Culture Society

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1720 Barbertown Road
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 416-537-7698
Year built: 1967
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Slovak-Canadians founded this unique private park to establish an inviting place reminiscent of their home country. The grounds include cabins, a chalet-style dining hall, an outdoor stage, and picnic and recreational facilities. For Doors Open, join us for coffee and a bake sale. The annual Pork Fest dinner begins at 5 p.m. (advance dinner RSVP required).
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Leslie Log House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
4415 Mississauga Road
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 905-615-4860, ext. 2111
Year built: 1826
Architect: John Leslie
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This white cedar log house was built by John Leslie for his family in 1826. The building was moved to its current location in 1994. In the spring of 2011, it opened as a Museums of Mississauga site in partnership with the Streetsville Historical Society. Enjoy exhibits, behind-the-scenes tours and hands-on children's activities during Doors Open.
Parking
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Miniature Meadowvale Village

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
7091 Pond Street
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 905-564-8632
Year built: 1997-2012
Architect: Terry Wilson
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The steam train sounded its whistle as you arrived at the Meadowvale station in 1901. Today, stroll down the village lanes past the shops, schoolhouse and mills. Named the people’s choice favourite site by Doors Open Ontario in 2011, Miniature Meadowvale Village blends history and imagination to take visitors back to village life in old Ontario.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Mississauga Sports Hall of Fame

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
5600 Rose Cherry Place
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 905-267-3536
Year built: 2007
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Action photos, memorabilia and biographies chronicle the achievements of Mississauga's greatest athletes, coaches and sports builders. In addition to the virtual Sports Hall of Fame, you can explore online. There is also a tribute to our sports heroes at the Sports Complex.
Parking
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Rumi Galleries

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
55 Woodlawn Avenue
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 905-274-3616
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Rumi Galleries is the largest historical and contemporary Canadian art gallery in Mississauga, whose focus is divided between 20th-century Canadian, American and European artists and Canadian contemporary artists of different generations. Work in all media can be found here, including painting, sculpture, photography, drawing and printmaking. The gallery continues to develop its exhibition program, with both in-house and international exhibits.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Sampradaya Dance Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
3250 Ridgeway Drive, Units 4 and 5
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 905-607-8434
Year built: 2006
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This location is home to Sampradaya Dance Academy and Sampradaya Dance Creations, sister companies founded by Artistic Director Lata Pada. The academy offers training in bharatanatyam – a classical South Asian dance, while Sampradaya Dance Creations is a professional dance company that presents classical and contemporary work. Take a guided tour of the newly expanded studio and theatre space.
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Slovak Museum at the Bradley Log Cabin

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1620 Orr Road
Mississauga, Ontario
Telephone: 416-721-7652
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
This museum portrays a traditional family home found in Cicmany, Slovakia. On the exterior of the log house, you can see the unique markings typical of this architecture and village. Inside, visitors can explore embroideries, wood carvings, rag rugs and art. Manikins will be available to portray shoe repair and laundering. A road-side cross and picket fence marks the pathway.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Self-guided tours available
First World War

Trinity Anglican Church, Port Credit

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
26 Stavebank Road
Port Credit, Ontario
Telephone: 905-278-1992
Year built: 1867
Building type: Cemetery, Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Join the Trinity Anglican Church and cemetery tour and remember some notable First World War veterans – particularly Lt.-Col. Agar Adamson of the Princess Patricia Light Infantry. The Princess Patricia Light Infantry and The Canadian War Museum will hold a 100th anniversary salute at the crypt gravesite of Lt.-Col. Adamson in early September.