Ontario Heritage Trust / Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien
Search

  • General information
  • Community information

August 16, 2014 - August 17, 2014

Doors Open Headwaters invites you to take a short drive northwest of Toronto to experience the best of Ontario’s authentic countryside.

The Hills of Headwaters offers a unique opportunity to enjoy a picturesque rural escape less than an hour from Toronto.

As part of Doors Open Headwaters, visitors will celebrate authentic Ontario rural heritage in our quaint and historic villages and hamlets, all set against the spectacular backdrop of the Niagara Escarpment.

Parking
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Alton Mill Arts Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1402 Queen Street West
Alton, Ontario
Telephone: 519-941-9300
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Attraction, Commercial, Historic landmark, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Built on the banks of Shaw's Creek, this national award-winning heritage building is now a jewel in the crown of the Greater Toronto Area arts scene. The Alton Mill is home to some 25 studio artists, galleries, a heritage museum, café and unique shops, while the industrial-chic ambience makes it the perfect venue to host your event.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Kid-friendly

Downtown Orangeville

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Start at 87 Broadway
Orangeville, Ontario
Telephone: 519-942-0087
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Style: Italianate
Building type: Attraction, Commercial, Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Marvel at the work of local artists and artists at work. Treat yourself to the best in local produce at the Second Street Farmers' Market. Spoil yourself with bargains at the Doors Open Sidewalk Sale. Delight your inner foodie and indulge in at the tasting tent on Mill Street. Enjoy live music, art and shopping – all in Orangeville’s heritage downtown.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available
First World War

Great War Flying Museum, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
13691 McLaughlin Road
Caledon, Ontario
Telephone: 416-740-6404
Building type: Attraction, Museum
Saturday: 10:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Sunday: 10:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Watch the Red Baron and Billy Bishop take to the skies again. Get up close to the aircraft, talk with ground crews and pilots, or just soak up the atmosphere of a First World War airfield. The dispersal hut museum is full of fascinating artifacts and information. Have lunch at the airport restaurant while planes fly all day long.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Historical Walking Tours

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Start at 87 Broadway (Orangeville Town Hall and Opera House)
Orangeville, Ontario
Telephone: 519-942-0087
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: tours at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m.; Sunday: tours at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m.
Step back in time and explore historical Orangeville’s 150-year heritage through a fascinating walking tour. Meet at the Town Hall at 11 a.m. or 2 p.m. for a guided 90-minute tour.
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Orangeville Public Library

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1 Mill Street
Orangeville, Ontario
Telephone: 519-941-0610
Year built: 1908
Architect: Beaumont Jarvis
Landscape type: Garden
Style: Beaux arts
Building type: Library
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.
Completed in 1908, the Orangeville Public Library is one of 111 Carnegie libraries in Ontario. It was built in a distinctive L shape to accommodate the bank on the corner. After the village was incorporated in 1863, town council meetings were held at this site. In 1988, the bank building and the library were renovated and joined.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Orangeville Town Hall Opera House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
87 Broadway
Orangeville, Ontario
Telephone: 519-942-0087
Year built: 1876
Style: Italianate
Building type: Attraction, Commercial, Theatre
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Orangeville Town Hall was built in 1876 and completely renovated in 1993. The second floor of the nearby opera house was restored, a two-storey office addition constructed and the two buildings joined by an atrium. For its architectural and historical merit, the town hall was designated under the Ontario Heritage Act. Walking tours from this location are also available.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms

Royal Canadian Legion Branch 233

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
7 John Street
Orangeville, Ontario
Telephone: 519-942-4895
Year built: 1935
Saturday: Noon to 6 p.m.; Sunday: Noon to 6 p.m.
This branch of the Legion has been serving veterans and their dependents, offering student bursaries and making donations to local organizations through the Poppy Trust Charitable Foundation and The Nevada Trust. Legion branches also organize and/or operate many community programs, including public safety programs, programs for seniors, sporting activities and youth programs. Come join us to learn more!
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

St. Mark's Anglican Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
5 First Avenue
Orangeville, Ontario
Telephone: 519-941-0640
Year built: 1868
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.; Sunday: 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. (Sunday services at 8:30 a.m. and 10 a.m. – all are welcome)
St. Mark's Anglican Church began its ministry in a small log cabin in 1837 built by Seneca Ketchum on the First Line of Mono. As the congregation grew, a stone church was built in 1854 on the present site and then replaced in 1868 by the existing building. In 2009, the church was refurbished and a lobby was added.
Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Shelburne Town Hall

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
203 Main Street East
Shelburne, Ontario
Year built: 1883
Architect: F.G. Dunbar
Building type: Historic landmark, Theatre
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The town hall, completed in 1883, was designed by town clerk F.G. Dunbar and built at a cost of approximately $3,000. Its construction was a significant step for a new municipality with a population of only 834. Throughout its many years, the building has been at the core of the community, fulfilling a multitude of functions.
Parking
Guided tours available
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

True Blue Masonic Lodge No.98

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
16 Nancy Street
Bolton, Ontario
Telephone: 647-298-8701
Year built: 1876
Style: Victorian
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Established in 1858, Bolton’s True Blue Masonic Lodge is the oldest fraternal order still active in the Town of Caledon. Meetings were held in the Masonic Arms Hotel until 1876 when the True Blue Lodge built its own hall on Nancy Street. Behind the building’s plain brick walls, you will find a stunningly intact late-Victorian interior.
Parking
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Westminster United Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
247 Broadway
Orangeville, Ontario
Telephone: 519-941-0381
Year built: 1879
Architect: Cornelius J. Soule
Style: Gothic revival
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.; Sunday service from 10 to 11 a.m. (all are welcome)
Architect Cornelius J. Soule completed Westminster United Church in 1879. The building, which is in the Gothic revival style, housed a Presbyterian congregation established in 1837. The United Church of Canada was organized in 1925, when the Presbyterian, Methodist and Congregational churches united. St. Andrew’s United and First Avenue United joined together in 1948 to form the Westminster congregation.