Ontario Heritage Trust / Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien
Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

May 03, 2014

You are invited to step inside some of Guelph's finest heritage buildings and unique spaces – many of which are not normally open to the public.

Continuing the tradition, owners and managers of a variety of buildings have once again generously agreed to open their doors for guided tours of the buildings and spaces that make Guelph unique. The event runs from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. No registration is required – and it's free!

Guelph has a tremendously rich architectural and historical heritage. Come celebrate it with us!

Approaching 40 years of dedication to the community, the Guelph Arts Council continues its vision of advocating for and the fostering a collaborative and creative community in Guelph.

For information on how to get involved and volunteer at Doors Open Guelph 2014, email David at programs@guelpharts.ca or call 519-836-3280.

Washrooms
Guided tours available

46 Essex Street

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
46 Essex Street
Guelph, Ontario
Year built: 1940s
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Built in the 1940s, 46 Essex Street previously operated as a refrigeration company, a garage and auto body shop, and – rumour has it – a site for chinchilla breeding. Today, the building houses a performance space, Icon Photography Inc., a book-making studio known as Publication Studios, a record shop and a place for forward-thinking people and artists to get together.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada's Guelph Food Research Council

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
93 Stone Road West
Guelph, Ontario
Building type: Food and drink
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s Guelph Food Research Council Centre specializes in food safety, quality and nutrition, and is committed to ensuring that food produced in Canada continues to be among the safest in the world and of the highest quality. For this Doors Open event, public tours of this unique site will be offered for the first time.
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

ANAF Club 344 Guelph, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
32 Gordon Street
Guelph, Ontario
Telephone: 519-822-0380
Year built: 1845
Architect: F.W. Stone
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
F.W. Stone, a pioneer businessman and noted cattle breeder, erected this three-storey structure in 1845 as a general store. It was the first major stone building and the site of the first Catholic mass and the first marriage in Guelph. The Guelph Imperials and Army, Navy and Air Force Veterans, Unit 344, have owned the building since 1960.

Guided tours available

Goldie Mill

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Behind Guelph Youth Music Centre (75 Cardigan Street)
Guelph, Ontario
Year built: 1827; rebuilt in 1866
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Located in Goldie Mill Park, Goldie Mill is the ruins of a three-storey limestone building constructed in 1866. The history of the mills on this site both before and after 1866 is fascinating, and fire figures in it repeatedly. A fire in 1953 completely destroyed the Goldie Mill, leaving behind the ruins and the legend that remains today.
Partial wheelchair access
Guided tours available

Historical Cinemas of Guelph

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Meet at 147 Wyndham Street (in front of the Guelph Arts Council office)
Guelph, Ontario
Saturday: Tours at 10 a.m., Noon and 2 p.m.
Well-known local historian and tour guide, David J. Knight, takes you on a cinematic tour! Come out for Doors Open and enjoy this walking tour of past and present cinemas, screening rooms and rooms that featured moving media throughout downtown Guelph. See the sights, learn the history!
Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Guided tours available

Macdonald Stewart Art Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
358 Gordon Street
Guelph, Ontario
Telephone: 519-837-0010
Year built: 1904
Architect: George M. Miller
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Originally constructed in 1904 as the Macdonald Consolidated School, this building was part of the Guelph Township School Board until it closed in 1972. The architect, George M. Miller, was based in Toronto but also designed nine buildings in turn-of-the century Guelph. Between 1978 and 1980, the building was renovated and enlarged to become the Macdonald Stewart Art Centre.
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Maria Pezzano Studio Boutique and Karen Whylie Coyote Photos

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
77 Suffolk Street
Guelph, Ontario
Telephone: 519-820-4970
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The beautiful grey building located at 77 Suffolk Street has a long history in the Guelph community. Many businesses have operated here – a barber, a butcher and grocery store, Embro's food market, the Stone Store, a stained-glass studio and shop, Greenwood Quiltery and Creativity Greenhouse – and now Maria Pezzano Studio Boutique Inc. and Karen Whylie Coyote Photos.

Neeve-Macdonald House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
7 Heather Avenue
Guelph, Ontario
Year built: 1854
Architect: John Neeve
Landscape type: Garden
Style: Georgian
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
John Neeve built this gracious residence in 1854 far from Guelph, a small community at that time. The house was constructed of local cut limestone on a centre hall plan in the Georgian style. Home to Evan Macdonald and now a second generation of artists, the property includes a light-filled studio that looks out on extensive gardens.
Trails Open Ontario

O.R. Sidetrail

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Meet at Stone Road East, east of Victoria Road, partway down the driveway to Barber Scout Camp
Guelph, Ontario
Year built: 2013
Landscape type: Natural heritage
Saturday: Tours at 11 a.m., 1 and 3 p.m.
As part of Trails Open Guelph, Guelph Hiking Trail Club leaders will conduct a two-kilometre (1.2-mile) interpretive hike on the club's newest trail – the “O.R.” Sidetrail – built in 2013. Featured will be the quarries and rock formations of the former Ontario reformatory, where prisoners once literally broke rocks, and the 1916 heritage bowstring bridge over the Eramosa River.

Persephone's Wardrobe

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
20 Wilson Street
Guelph, Ontario
Telephone: 519-993-0865
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Persephone's Wardrobe is a women’s clothing and gift boutique specializing in natural fabrics and Canadian designs. Constructed c. 1850, this building was the home of John Smith, local printer and the first mayor of Guelph, in 1856.
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
First World War

War Memorial Hall (University of Guelph)

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Corner of College Avenue East and Gordon Street
Guelph, Ontario
Year built: 1923-24
Architect: Coles and Dangerfield, Guelph
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
In the First World War, 109 men from the Ontario Agricultural College, now the University of Guelph, lost their lives. After the war, students at the college suggested that the fallen be honoured with a memorial building. They raised money and even cut down trees at the site they had chosen for the hall. It opened in 1924.
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Willow Manor

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
408 Willow Road
Guelph, Ontario
Telephone: 519-763-3574
Building type: Commercial
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Once located far from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, Willow Manor is today surrounded by urban residential and commercial development. Originally known as Fountain Head Farm, this property is closely associated with several generations of the Hood family, early Guelph Township settlers. Today, innkeeper Donna Cooper operates this 1800s property as a bed and breakfast.