Search

  • General information
  • Community information
  • BECOME A VOLUNTEER

May 27, 2017 - May 28, 2017

Brockville and the Thousand Islands are pleased to welcome you back for Doors Open 2017!

With 34 sites ranging from museums to art galleries, gardens to churches, and more, there is something for everyone to explore.

Grab your friends and family and plan to spend the day or weekend enjoying the stunning views along the St. Lawrence River and getting to know the many beautiful towns of the region – from Prescott to Delta to Mallorytown!

Brockville: City of the 1000 Islands

Located in the heart of the 1000 Islands and the St. Lawrence Seaway, Brockville is a beautiful, historical waterfront town that attracts visitors from around the world.

In a community of 24,000 people, Brockville is a city with hometown charm. The city of Brockville has the same services and amenities that can be found in larger suburban centres, while offering the benefits of a community-oriented atmosphere. The city works hard to maintain the heritage feel found in the downtown area, while keeping up on growth and competition throughout the other parts of the city.

One of the most picturesque areas in the world, Brockville is host to countless festivals, events and fun activities for visitors to enjoy. The Brockville and 1000 Islands Tourism Office is open year-round to help you plan your stay.

Come and visit! But be warned – once you discover the charm of Brockville and succumb to the city’s hospitality, you will want to stay longer.

Some of our participating sites could use a helping hand.

Tasks might include:

  • welcoming guests and keeping entrance statistics
  • handing out exit surveys
  • providing security to a space
  • and more, depending on the site

If you are interested in volunteering at an area site during Doors Open Brockville and the Thousand Islands, please contact the site directly or email pamela.peacock@heritagetrust.on.ca

Please indicate:

  • the date and time(s) you are available
  • if you have a preference as to which site you volunteer at
  • what type of volunteer work you are interested in

Thank you!

Parking
Washrooms
Guided tours available

1000 Islands Village

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1120 County Road 2 East
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-640-1077
Year built: 1918
Saturday and Sunday: guided tours at 10 a.m., Noon and 2 p.m. each day

1000 Islands Village is a 27-acre resort campus on the banks of the St. Lawrence River that has everything you'd imagine in a village. This campus was once home to St. Mary's College and the Grenville Christian College. The old may be gone, but see for yourself the new site that has replaced it!

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Brockville Rifles Armouries, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
144 King Street East
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-342-2755
Year built: 1900
Architect: David Ewart
Building type: Military
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The 41st Brockville Battalion of Rifles was raised as a result of Fenian threats to Canada in 1866 and 1871. The armouries, home to the regiment, opened in 1902 with great pomp and circumstance. Since then, the Brockville Rifles has been part of the social fabric of the city. This proud regiment marked its 150th anniversary in 2016.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
Guided tours available

Brockville Lawn Bowling Club

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1831-1839 Oxford Avenue (near Crawford Street)
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-213-2281
Year built: 1906
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. (Sunday rain day, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.)

The Brockville Lawn Bowling Club hosts weekly events for members. Lawn bowling is often referred to as curling on grass. Come and see demonstrations of the sport and give it a try. Please wear flat-soled shoes.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Ontario 150

Brockville Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
5 Henry Street
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-342-4397
Year built: 1820, 1845, 1995
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Come and learn about Brockville’s prominent manufacturers, formidable wealth, fascinating historical figures and vivacious ordinary citizens – all interconnected by a dynamic river. For 2017, visitors can explore the special exhibit, How Brockville Celebrated the Centennial. Tours of collection facilities offered hourly. Come and discover our past!

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Brockville Public Library

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
23 Buell Street
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-342-3936
Year built: 1904
Building type: Library
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 1 to 4 p.m.

The Brockville Public Library opened its doors in August 1904, thanks to the generosity of American philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. Come and explore the library’s history and architecture, view the art exhibits, make some crafts with the kids and enjoy light refreshments.

Parking
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Burnbrae Farms

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
3356 County Road 27
Lyn, Ontario
Telephone: 613-213-3327
Year built: 1891
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Burnbrae Farms, a family-owned farm in the village of Lyn, has been in operation since 1891. The owners are dedicated to producing quality eggs, which are graded and packaged on site. Farm tours on both days at 10 a.m., Noon and 2 p.m.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Chillane Gardens

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
10 Junetown Road
Mallorytown, Ontario
Telephone: 613-923-5799
Year built: 1847
Architect: James Herbison
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Attraction, Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

A formal rose garden, a large English garden-style perennial bed and a geometric herb garden surround an 1847 stone house and several reproduction outbuildings. Hundreds of hostas border paths that wind through a forest of native trees and specimen trees. The garden also contains many unique works of art.

Parking
Washrooms
Kid-friendly

Colonel's Inn, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
408 East Street
Prescott, Ontario
Telephone: 613-925-2159
Year built: 1835
Building type: Commercial, Private residence
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Housed in a 19th-century stone building and an adjacent carriage house, this traditional bed and breakfast is a three-minute walk from Fort Wellington National Historic Site and a seven-minute walk from the Forwarders' Museum.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Self-guided tours available

Dominion Lighthouse

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
150 Water Street East
Prescott, Ontario
Year built: 1989
Building type: Attraction
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This replica lighthouse was built in 1989 in memory of late Rotary Club member G. Judson Newell. The lantern and Fresnel lens were from the former Dominion Lighthouse Depot in Prescott, which was erected in 1903 and located where the Canadian Coast Guard Base stands today, on King Street West.

Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

First Baptist Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
5 Pine Street
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-342-9556
Year built: c. 1878
Architect: James P. Johnston
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The First Baptist Church is one of the original four Protestant churches in Brockville’s Court House Square. The three massive stained-glass windows are beautiful viewed from inside or out. You can view the church’s collection of antique bibles, and you might be lucky enough to hear the 1910 Casavant Frères 12-pipe organ.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

First Presbyterian Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
10 Church Street
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-345-5014
Year built: 1879
Architect: James P. Johnston
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This congregation was founded in 1811 by Rev. William Smart, an itinerant preacher who spread the gospel on horseback, carrying his bible in his saddlebags. This impressive stone structure has three landmark spires and beautiful stained-glass windows. Tour guides will be on hand to welcome visitors, and an organist will demonstrate the use of the organ.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Fort Wellington National Historic Site

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
370 Vankoughnet Street
Prescott, Ontario
Telephone: 613-925-2896
Year built: 1812-14; rebuilt 1838-39
Building type: Attraction, Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Explore the historical fort, an 1812-era gunboat wreck and a new exhibit in the Visitor Centre. See a cannon salute at 11 a.m. and interact with guides in period costume as you discover one of the best-preserved British military forts in Canada.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
Ontario 150

Forwarders' Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
201 Water Street
Prescott, Ontario
Telephone: 613-925-1861
Year built: 1828
Architect: Alpheus Jones
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This building, now a museum and visitor centre, was used first as a post office and customs house before becoming a warehouse for goods brought by boat. Goods were then moved further west by schooner, and later by steamboat, to destinations farther upriver and into the Great Lakes. A special exhibit, Identity, explores United Empire Loyalist roots.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
Kid-friendly
Trails

Frontenac Arch Biosphere Network Office

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
19 Reynolds Road
Lansdowne, Ontario
Telephone: 613-659-4824
Year built: 1938
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This structure was built in the 1930s as a restaurant to serve traffic on the new Thousand Islands Bridge. Now, with its ideal location along the Waterfront Trail, it is an information centre providing visitors with cultural, historical and outdoor recreational guidance for the region. Local artwork and educational displays cover the walls, along with rack cards.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Fulford Academy

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
280 King Street East
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-341-9330
Year built: 1915
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Fulford Academy was previously the Fulford Home for aged, indigent women, which Senator George Taylor Fulford first conceived of in 1902. The facility was modelled after a 16th-century Surrey-style home. The building was built in 1915 and opened as a home for the aged in 1917. It was converted into a private boarding school in 2002.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust
Ontario 150

Fulford Place

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
287 King Street East
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-498-3003
Year built: 1899-1901
Architect: Albert W. Fuller
Style: Edwardian
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This magnificent Edwardian mansion evokes the opulent lifestyle of Canada’s industrial and political elite in the early 1900s. Guides will be on hand throughout the house to share family history with visitors, and tours of the collections storage area will be available. Enjoy a new exhibit, Pieces of Me, that explores the interconnection of artifacts and identity.

Parking

Green Gecko, The

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
436 Lyndhurst Road
Lyndhurst, Ontario
Telephone: 613-928-1196
Year built: 1850s-70s
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Sunday: Noon to 4 p.m.

Now run as a unique gift shop featuring work by local and international artisans, this building was constructed by Henry Green in the 1850s. A brick extension was added in the 1870s. The building showcases an original two-storey porch with gingerbread ornamentation, interior woodwork, and decorative stairs and a banister, untouched by modern paint.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

Grenville County Historical Society Archival Resource Centre

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
500 Railway Avenue
Prescott, Ontario
Telephone: 613-925-0489
Architect: Peto, Brassey, Jackson and Betts
Building type: Library, Transportation
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Visit the Grenville County Historical Society Archival Resource Centre at the former Grand Trunk-Canadian National Railway Station. The society collects, preserves, exhibits and publishes material pertaining to Grenville County. Explore the area's river culture through memorabilia, photos and stories connected to shipbuilding, forwarding, ferries, grain elevators and marine education.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Heritage Place Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
19 Main Street West
Lyn, Ontario
Telephone: 613-342-3785
Year built: 1836
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Heritage Place Museum, a beautifully renovated 19th-century building, is a community museum dedicated to preserving and promoting the rich cultural and industrial heritage of Lyn and area. In the 1800s, Lyn, with its railroad and waterway systems, was the major mill town in Upper Canada. Watch artisans at work. Refreshments available.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
French services available
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust

Homewood Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1372 Highway 2 (north side)
Maitland, Ontario
Telephone: 613-348-1246
Year built: 1799
Architect: Louis Briere
Style: Georgian
Building type: Museum
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

One of Ontario's oldest residences, Homewood – owned and operated by the Ontario Heritage Trust – was commissioned by Dr. Solomon Jones, a Loyalist and surgeon in the militia. Learn about early medical practice, life in the militia, farming and more, as you delve into the history of seven generations of one family.

Parking
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Long Point School House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
3410 County Road 3
Lyndhurst, Ontario
Telephone: 613-387-3145
Year built: 1862
Building type: Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Long Point School opened in 1862 and closed in 1960. In 2003, Denis and Margaret Brennan purchased the schoolhouse, added to the back of it and restored the building to how it would have been before 1910. During Doors Open, local artist Michael O’Connor will be showing his paintings.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Mallory Coach House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1523 County Road 2
Mallorytown, Ontario
Year built: 1853
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This two-storey fieldstone house, with beautiful gardens and gazebo, has been used as a farmhouse, doctor’s office and tavern hotel. Purchased by the township in 2005, the house was renovated for use as exhibit space for local artifacts. In 2017, see the new domestic display and tribute to the 120th anniversary of the Women's Institute, as well as the glassworks.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Guided tours available

Maplehurst Manor & Carriage House

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1258 County Road 2
Maitland, Ontario
Telephone: 613-348-1829
Year built: 1829
Architect: George Longley
Style: Georgian
Building type: Commercial, Private residence
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Maplehurst is a magnificent Georgian-style manor overlooking the St. Lawrence River. Completed in 1829 by an English lord, Maplehurst is considered one of Brockville’s premier properties, offering guests a lovely bed and breakfast stay or setting for weddings and other events. During Doors Open, Maplehurst will be offering tea and light lunch from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Reservations recommended.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Marianne van Silfhout Gallery

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
2288 Parkedale Avenue
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-345-0660
Building type: Attraction, Museum
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Marianne van Silfhout Gallery, a state-of-the-art community art gallery located in the front atrium of the St. Lawrence College campus, is the focus of the visual arts community in Brockville and the eastern Ontario area. The gallery regularly exhibits work by local, regional, national and international artists.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
National Historic Site (Canada)
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available
Site has blue and gold provincial plaque

Old Stone Mill National Historic Site

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
46 King Street, County Road 42
Delta, Ontario
Telephone: 613-928-2584
Year built: 1810
Architect: Jones and Schofield
Building type: Historic landmark
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

This impressive Georgian building, a National Historic Site, is Canada’s earliest surviving stone gristmill and a fine example of early milling technology. On Saturday, a milling demonstration takes place at 1 p.m.; flour and bread will be available for purchase. Also at this site, visit the blacksmith and enjoy complimentary refreshments in the Old Town Hall.

Parking
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Rotary Clock Tower

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
201 King Street West
Prescott, Ontario
Year built: 1979
Architect: Fort Construction (Prescott) Ltd.
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Rotary Clock Tower was constructed in 1979-80 through fundraising efforts by the Rotary Club of Prescott, resurrecting the Daniels Clock once held in the former town hall. Interact with the refurbished and digitized (2016) Rotary Clock Tower. And enjoy a special exhibit showing detailed construction and planning phases of the site.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available

St. John's United Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
32 Park Street
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-345-5824
Year built: 1870s
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The congregation of St. John’s United Church is celebrating over 180 years of worship in Brockville. During Doors Open, they will offer tours and music. There will also be a plant, flower, bake and indoor garage sale from 8 a.m. to Noon. Everyone is welcome to visit “The Friendly Church on King Street.”

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

St. Lawrence Anglican Church

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
80 Pine Street
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-345-5717
Architect: Arthur McLean
Building type: Place of worship
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; musical offerings from Noon to 4 p.m.; light refreshments and plant sale all day

In 2006, the congregations of St. Peter and Trinity amalgamated to form the Parish of the St. Lawrence. The entrance and bell tower were restored; hardwood floors and a labyrinth walk were installed in the worship area. In the Memorial Chapel, see lists of soldiers who fought in the First and Second World Wars.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Guided tours available

Springfield House and Leeds and the Thousand Islands Archives

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1369 County Road 2
Mallorytown, Ontario
Telephone: 613-659-3888
Year built: 1870
Architect: J.G. Kavanaugh
Building type: Library
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Archive is located in the former Township of Escott Town Hall in the hamlet of Escott next to Springfield House, one of several coach stops along the King’s Highway. The Archive houses the collective documentary memory of the Township of Leeds and the Thousand Islands and is useful for historical, cultural and genealogical research.

Parking
Full wheelchair access
Washrooms
Kid-friendly

Township of Athens and Area Heritage Museum

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
Lions Hall, 12 Wellington Street East (at Henry Street)
Athens, Ontario
Telephone: 613-924-2644
Building type: Museum
Saturday only: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Mother Barnes and Sir John A. MacDonald will re-enact the clairvoyant's reported prediction about our nation's capital 150 years ago. Doors Open will also feature founding father Joshua Bates and the 70th anniversary of Athens High School's Student Parliament – the oldest student parliament in Canada.

Parking
Partial wheelchair access
Kid-friendly
Guided tours available
Self-guided tours available

Van Berlo Gardens

CONTACT INFO ARCHITECTURE DATES/HOURS OPEN
1357 Country Road 2
Maitland, Ontario
Telephone: 613-320-0288
Year built: 2012
Landscape type: Garden
Building type: Attraction
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; Sunday: 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Come and enjoy the beauty of spring in the extensive perennial gardens. Stroll along the paths amid nature’s perfection. Best described as a plant collector’s garden, Van Berlo Gardens features many unusual perennials, shrubs and trees. The garden changes throughout the season with a fresh display of blooms weekly.